I Am My Own Worst Enemy

Well this week flew by unexpectedly. My brother came into town and it was a whirlwind of activity! It mainly revolved around poor food decisions, and to put it mildly, I will definitely have enough fuel in the tank for my run tomorrow. Unfortunately it’s a five miler, and just thinking about the food I ate, I would estimate it would last me for a 48 hour fast and a 10 mile run. 

The ‘older I get’ the more I realize that my body truly hates junk food. I know I have said this before, but I’ve had two days this week where I experienced pretty dramatic affects from my diet. The first ‘episode’ I ate something that has upset me before, and this time it upset me even further. And I mean, nausea, headache, bloating, etc. – in fact, the symptoms were so bad that the next day I had to take Benadryl, and have a three hour nap just to help kick the nastiness. 

Cue last night. We went to a local minor league ballgame and I totally splurged on a funnel cake. If you know me at all, you will know my love for funnel cakes, and you would be absolutely floored to know that it has been about six years since I last had one. About half way into the funnel cake I started to feel ‘off’, but I was basically in an eating competition with my brother and I couldn’t lose. I powered through, and today I am paying dearly for it. Nausea all day long, bloating, and I woke up with a killer headache. Luckily I didn’t have to resort to Benadryl today, but it was bad enough to where I will probably never have another funnel cake, or anything deep fried, ever again. 
With that said, I managed to hit my mileage this week. My first three miler I took slow because I ran in the heat of the day. My mid-week four miler was downright amazing. I absolutely love running 800’s, so I did repeats. 2 x 800 @9:05, 1 x 800 @ 8:49, 1 x 800 @ 8:41, 2 x 800 @ 8:34 and the last at 8:13. I wanted to keep going but had to get my son to basketball. My final three miler was today, and I managed to average a 9:44 pace. My main goal for this entire run was to not throw up. Literally. I wanted to go faster, just for the sake of getting back to a trash can sooner, but I decided I’d rather go slower than vomit. That’s how much I hate doing it. 


I’m finally feeling better tonight, which is a good thing. I didn’t eat all day, but had some rice, garbanzo beans and a little coconut curry for dinner and it was perfect. Like I said, I have a five mile run tomorrow, and while I love running long, I think the distance will be perfect. My stomach is too pissed off at me to do anything more. The rest of the week, I’ll probably survive off of tofu, rice and kimchi while downing kombucha. I have found that this ‘heals’ my insides the best, as gross as it may sound, but I feel like my body is craving it! I don’t know how it is for everyone else, but if my gut isn’t happy, NO one is happy. It makes for healthy eating, but it’s also very annoying… because sometimes this girl just wants a damn funnel cake. 

Combined, my total mileage for the week was 10 miles. As with every run I have, of any distance, I ran purposeful steps to honor the fallen and their families. 

Army Staff SGT Gina Sparks, KIA 04OCT2004; Army Staff SGT Richard Morgan Jr., KIA 05OCT2004; Army SPC Jessica Cawvey, KIA 06OCT2004; Army Pvt. Jeungjin Na Kim, KIA 06OCT2004; Army SGT Andrew Brown, KIA 08OCT2004; Army Spc. Morgen N. Jacobs KIA 07OCT2004; Marine Pfc. Andrew Halverson KIA 09OCT2004; Army Pfc. James E. Prevete KIA 10OCT2004; Army Pvt. Carson J. Ramsey KIA 10OCT2004; and Army Pvt. Carson J. Ramsey KIA 08OCT2004. 

I Am My Own Worst Enemy

Leave a Reply

