The Most Trivial Post of 2016

Well so far, 2016 has been interesting.

I’m drafting another post that I’ll hopefully publish soon, but it is in the same vein of the previous post, and I figured I would split the sadness up with a trivial post, so here it is. Foreshadowing!

24 days in, and I’m already rocking my resolutions. One I didn’t mention in my original post, is that I promised to be more… feminine. Not necessarily rocking a tutu on the treadmill and ball gowns to the grocery store; but think more along the lines of make up daily (ugh, pain in the ASS booty) and less cussing because I’m a motherfuckin LADY, and… not wearing so much black (this one hurts the most). I can hear my mother and Abue breathing a sigh of relief.

tumblr_ndvpid3DcD1snusg4o1_500

My favorite so far, is the reading challenge.

book challenge2016a

A book I COULD have finished in a day, had it not been for pesky daily routines… it took me two days instead, but the book is tiny :: A Gift From the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh I’ve been meaning to read this for awhile. I bought it when I was struggling with staying home with the kids, right after I had our son. What mom doesn’t feel that she is basically an unpaid maid? What mom feels as though she needs a solo vacation but abandons the idea when no one else seemingly knows how to fold laundry or start the dishwasher? We’ve all been there. I dealt with mom guilt a LOT, and this book has a great way of telling you IT IS OKAY to take time for yourself. It’s easy to read, or pick up where you left off. By the end it gets a bit redundant, but that’s just me. If you’re a mom, caregiver, or overworked in general, you NEED this book. Heed it’s advice.

A book I previously abandoned :: I hate admitting I’ve put down books and never picked them up again. A little backstory. Whenever I go to the library, I tend to pick up 5 books for me, a feat that is damn near impossible; the equivalent of my eyes being too big for my stomach. This particular book, I finally revisited. Escape from the Land of Snows: The Young Dalai Lama’s Harrowing Flight to Freedom and the Making of a Spiritual Hero is an excellent read, and I recommend it to everyone. Without giving too much away (obviously… we know the Dalai Lama makes it) it truly captures the tenacity and bravery of multiple individuals during the escape. It’ll make Jack Bauer look like a pansy. I will read this book again.

As far as the other resolutions go, I’m running quite often – in fact, this month alone, I have surpassed my mileage for totals of every month in 2015. I can’t believe I ran so little. Oh well. Waking up prior to the household has been going well, as has going to bed at 2100 (painfully early at times) and yoga is practiced on a daily basis to some degree.

YAY accomplishments. I’m sure you were dying to know.

grreat.gif

Until next time!

 

 

The Most Trivial Post of 2016

One thought on “The Most Trivial Post of 2016

  1. Sounds like you’re kicking 2016 in the teeth, friend! It’s encouraging to see you writing again.. Thanks for that. 2015 was not my favorite year, but I hope to be back on the regular blogging wagon soon. Much love!

Leave a Reply

