2016 resolutions/promises/intentions

Well here I sit, another year gone by…

My sole resolution for 2015 was to not make it suck like 2014 did. Based on that alone, I blew it out of the water. Go, me! Sure, bumps in the road here and there, but nothing like the monstrosity of the year prior.

image

Because I feel like I’m actually in a good place now, mentally and physically, I want to set more practical and descriptive intentions for 2016.

image

There’s a chance, Kevin. A real good chance. But bear with me, these are actually do-able. Unlike your ability to not drive drunk.

Though I love a good challenge, I found that all of the running ones were a bit much. I ran 82 miles this year. EIGHTY. TWO. TOTAL. MILES. No way am I about to join the Goucher’s in their 2016 mile excursion, and iLoveToRun had an 1,000 mile option as well. I was enamored with the latter, until I realized that my marathon running, super high speed sister in law ran around 1,100 miles – and there’s no way I can keep up with that. So, my ‘running’ resolution this year is to simply run more miles each month. This will give me January to get my legs back, then February a solid base, and so on and so forth. It will become more challenging as the year goes on, but whatever!

image

Another intention I have is to wake up 30 minutes earlier than the household and start the day in complete solitude. Ideally, this means yoga or meditations, journaling or even cuddling on the couch with tea. This does NOT mean glancing at the planner, scrolling my Twitter feed, or going back to sleep. I did this in 2014 and it went well until The Thing, and then I lost all hope. I’m most excited for this, because I was totally rocking life and waking up happy (!!)

image

For my last physical resolution, I found a quirky little Reading Challenge online. I already have a list of books correlating to their appropriate task, so I’m good to go. I’m really excited about this one, and I have PLENTY of books I’ve been meaning to read. Also, more time spent with my nose in a book means less interaction with people. We all benefit from this, trust me.

Now, for the mental part of 2016. I don’t even know where to begin. The unknown does not rattle me, in any way shape or form. While most individuals tend to slink away at the thought of a major life change, I’m the first to seek out FUN and EXCITEMENT even if it means suspending reality for a moment or two. OH, getting out of the Army? Excellent!!!! Let’s move to Peru and live like royalty! WHEEE!! If there’s anything that 2014/2015 taught me, it’s that following my intuition and finding my own happiness is absolutely key in making life work.

image

Yes, Emma, it really is. Because once you stop being such a miserable COW and hating life and everything in it’s dark, gloomy, humid, non-chocolate existing world… you get this glimpse of hope and you ride that sumbitch into the sunset that you get to make yourself. It’s awesome.

I really am God-awful at time management though, so I suppose I can make a greater effort at that. I GUESS. I mean… if I absolutely HAVE too.

image

Hope y’all are having a safe end to 2015, and may 2016 be your best year yet!

2016 resolutions/promises/intentions

4 thoughts on “2016 resolutions/promises/intentions

  1. jkennyfamily says:

    I hadn’t planned any “resolutions” this year, I never do. I would love to get up earlier than the kids and have a half hour to read. Somehow, they hear my eyes open and run downstairs. 😉 Good luck with your changes this year.

Leave a Reply

