Shoes and Races

Running, I’m sorry I broke up with you for so long.

Weights, I enjoyed the time we spent together.

Somehow, I am going to find a balance between running and lifting. By no means will I revert back to No-Ass-At-All Cardio Bunny, but at the same time I won’t focus so much on a quad sweep or shoulder boulders. The three week vacation definitely helped in my re-focus, for sure.

In the past few days I have covered some 3 or 4 mile runs (9:22-9:40 average) some on the road, and a couple on the treadmill. It has felt awesome so far, aside from the shoe issue. For the life of me I can’t seem to find a shoe that fits as well as my Pure Flows. I do have a few Nike’s I want to try, but I’m really interested in Zoots. Any input on that is greatly appreciated! Lightweight and lasting are the two main components in what I’m looking for. Anything else just means I’ll be spending $120 every 4 or 5 months, which I’m not willing to do. 

As for now, I am signed up for a local 5k this Saturday, and a virtual HARRY POTTER race on July 31st. Apparently there’s a Hogwarts Running Club and I caught wind of the race through the charity organization they’re supporting for this race. Very cool.
image

Lastly, I *think* I might do a half marathon in October. I can’t decide… really there is nothing stopping me, aside from myself. The local running group is hosting a training kick off tomorrow night, complete with a cookout and gait analysis.

Shoes and Races

Leave a Reply

