Happy Friday Eve!

20140108_130552

The past couple of days have been busy! Yesterday I had a 3.5 mile single stroller run with this little man. I absolutely love running with him. Well, with both of the kids, really. Though he refuses to talk, as a family we have gotten pretty good at deciphering his caveman way of communication. There’s a grunt for “LOOK!”, “I’m hungry”, “Get me out of this carseat”, “I’m tired”… there’s even a special one for “my water is stuck”. This all makes an appearance during a run, and yesterday was no different. Naturally it was windy and cold, but that didn’t stop us. I booked during a majority of the run – I had a brilliant idea of wandering down what I thought would be a desolate road, but in turn was actually an industrial road leading to various construction sites and the post dump. So, not your typical Prius puttering by you, more like 18 wheelers scaring the ever living SHIT out of you. W loved it though, he would let out a big, excited “whoooooooooooooa”-ish type sound every time one went by. The run was humbling, especially when I was struggling up a hill and happened to see a fellow preschool mom. Sigh. I never see anyone when I’m rocking the track workout, but sure, half dead and moving at a snail’s pace, why not. Smile

20140109_122606 (1)

Today I managed to get in some decent yoga time. A month or so ago I decided to cancel my YogaGlo subscription (…only $18 a month… sigh) to save us some money, but in retrospect I am totally kicking myself for doing that. I’ve somehow managed to find decent free sessions on YouTube, but I really liked YogaGlo. I might have to go back, as I desperately miss my Jo Tastula therapy sessions. I did the runner’s sequence and some spine twists that really helped open my back up. I don’t know if it is my posture or what, but my back has been hurting like crazy lately.

Another round of “Would You Rather” from Olive to Run Smile 

Would you rather…  run with one of your ancestors or your role models? Ancestors, hands down! I love anything to do with genealogy, and would be so fascinated to see a glimpse of where I came from.  
Would you rather…  run a race that is a few hour drive but in a beautiful location or in your city with a short drive? Total mom answer – depends on the kids. 5 hour drive to a winery? No. Princess Dash here in town? Of course! I’d probably chose city because I’m frugal like that…
Would you rather… take an ice bath for a half hour or foam roll for a half hour? Foam roll. It’s a necessary evil. I actually don’t mind ice baths, but 30 minutes of one sounds like more harm than good!
Would you rather… have a black toe nail pulled off or have your entire back chaffed from running and be forced to shower for a hour straight? ARGH. Toe nail – instantly gone is better.
Would you rather… spend an extra $100 a month given to you on running/fitness or save it? Save it. … unless I’m allowed to spend it on the kids.
Would you rather… be known for running the fastest marathon or running the longest distance at one time? Longest distance. Because that means more food…
Would you rather… have your medal handed to you by Kara Goucher or Shalane Flanagan? Kara!
Would you rather… lick someone else’s armpit after a marathon, or lick their foot after a marathon? Sorry, throwing in the towel. If I even envision that, I’ll start puking.

Happy Friday Eve!

4 thoughts on “Happy Friday Eve!

  1. I love W’s response to all the big trucks, I can’t believe how big he’s getting! That would be G too, words and all. I would even take S to the princess run. Sounds like a blast! She would love it.

Leave a Reply

