Lazy Saturday and “Would You Rather”

Things around here have been pretty uneventful. As any runner with a family knows, ‘rest’ days can be pretty hit or miss – they are essentially ‘active rest’ days. There’s always laundry to do, dishes to clean/put away, kids to corral, random errands to run [I got over $30 of stuff for $11, thanks to post Christmas sales!!] or in some cases, clearing a play room of all toys.

collage_20140104143034122

We have been battling this for months. I realize the kids are young, 4 and 1, but we have been fighting the whole ‘clean your space/treat your stuff with respect’ issue for what seems like eons. Well, Mommy had enough and though they can physically see their toys up in the closet shelves or in the guest room, they will have to earn them back with good behavior and being kind to the stuff I did leave out.

20140104_145939collage_20140104164020416_20140104164613198

Heeeeeeeeeey… uh… are you gonna eat that??

Lunch came and went. Poor dog will never stop trying to eat our food. I try and fit spinach into his diet but he just won’t have it. Wonder why. In addition to the badass clearance I stumbled upon, I also put these puppies on layaway.

 

20140104_123112

Times after Christmas suck, so instead of depleting the checking account even more, I figured I could wait even though I LOVE THESE SHOES. My current PureFlows have less than 20 miles on them, but I already love them that much. I can’t wait to get these babies in my hands!!

Anyway, I happened upon Cori’s blog at Olive To Run, and she has a pretty cool sequence of surveys. And you know me, I’m a sucker for a good survey. In a perfect world I would do every single one that she has all at one time, but I figured that there’s only two of you who read this blog [hi mom!!] and I don’t want to scare you off!!

#1. Would you rather run in a thunderstorm or a snowstorm? By definition, a thunderstorm has lighting and thunder. Soooooooooo, snowstorm!!!! So long as I have gloves. Smile Disclaimer: I’d rather be on the treadmill because I’m a pansy.

#2. Would you rather breathe through your nose or breathe through your mouth? Mouth, I guess. I can’t imagine not sighing heavily at the general public.

#3. Would you rather do 100 squats or 100 crunches? [Now take a break and go do them. ;)] No go, ‘tis a rest day. I would honestly take either or. Squats would hurt more, but I know crunches don’t do anything for me so it would be easy.

#4. Would you rather have a baked good for dessert or an extra serving of your favorite entree? Entrée. I’m just not a big fan of desserts, especially baked good ones – I’m very picky. I know that’ll come as a surprise to most people, I just really like wholesome food.

#5. Would you rather run on a treadmill for an hour or run around the same street block for an hour? Street block. Sorry, EMZ. I just cannot hack the treadmill. Plus you can always get creative with a street block; going back a different way, coming up with acronyms for license plates, etc. I always find something new in my neighborhood no matter how many times I run it, and will often dub houses by decoration; “the cement goose house, huge ass Texas star house, house with tricked out cars, etc.”

#6. Would you rather have a headache during a run or a side stitch? Side stitch. I can breathe through them or stretch, hell maybe even walk. But a pounding headache? No way. I can barely function, let alone run.

#7. Would you rather have a rest day on a work day or a day off? I stay home, so I don’t really have a day off… but odds are I’d want to run on a day off. I hate, hate, hate sitting around, so I would need something to do.

#8. Would you rather be a race director or a race volunteer? Volunteer. Mainly because I have no idea what a race director entails!

#9. Would you rather spend your money on running gadgets [HRM, GPS watch, Headphones] or running shoes? Shoes, hands down. It’s why I have a prehistoric Garmin, first generation iPod something, and a million shoes. As mentioned above, I have shoes with less than 20 miles on them, yet I put more in the proverbial closet.

#10. Would you rather run in a relay or do the run portion of a distance triathlon? Run portion of a distance triathlon. Only because I’ve already done a relay. It was a blast though, and I would do it again. Smile

Anyway, those are the questions from her blog. Always fun. Tomorrow I have a run on the schedule as well as gym time. And church. Aaaaaaaaand hopefully talking the husband into frozen yogurt. I can get the kids on board with this, easily, so odds are we will win. Heh…

Lazy Saturday and “Would You Rather”

9 thoughts on “Lazy Saturday and “Would You Rather”

  1. What a great Saturday, Nat! I hope the kiddos get serious about that cleaning up business; I’m *pretty* sure it’s never too early to learn respect of space and home.. 🙂

    LOVE the “Would You Rather…?” answers! I saw (and answered every single one in the REPLY box…like a TOTAL dork) on Where’s the Beach? blog.

    1. I’ll take your word for it since you have more experience with kids than I do!! Totally checking out the one on Where’s the Beach?. So glad we’re both blogging on a more regular basis!! 🙂

    1. Oh I totally forgot to comment with a link to mine!! I’ll do that once I get my computer out!! And yes I would much rather go for ice cream…. mmmm….

  2. My rest days are definitely filled with other things – today it’s meal planning and prepping for the week. The room transformation above is epic!

  3. Your answers to this survey & my answers to the survey are going to be very similar. 🙂 I’ll have to post it. 🙂 Those are some pretty shoes. I want new running shoes now too.

Leave a Reply

