Whirlwind.

I last left you talking about Duck Dynasty [it was awesome] and a long run. Like clockwork, Friday night the kids were a hot mess, waking up often enough to when it came time to dress and go run, I laughed at the clock and kept snoozing. I don’t know what it is about my kids – all week they sleep like little angels, but come the night before a long run/something important, all hell breaks loose. It’s getting to the point where it’s becoming predictable, which is pretty annoying but there’s nothing I can really do about it. Do other kids do this? Really, I lack willpower, and should have done my run Saturday morning.

Anyway, I didn’t get my run in until 4 pm Sunday afternoon. After a 2.5 mile hike. Which happened after eating hash browns, eggs, cupcakes, and cookies all day.

bacon

Not my most brilliant move ever, and I’m paying for it today. My legs aren’t as sore as I thought they would be, but I have a killer dehydration headache, and I for sure should have fueled better. Oh, also, the kids are sick. Again. I swear, we are allergic to Washington state. I think this is cold bout #7 for the oldest, #5 for the youngest? I’ve lost count at this point. And I promise I’m not being neurotic and claiming ‘cold’ for nothing – I’m talking bright green snot and coughing up lungs. Lovely! Washington is nuts; yesterday I started the run in beautiful, sunny weather, wearing nothing but a shirt and a running skirt. At the end of the run, my muscles were cramping from the cold, and my pathetically thin running jacket did absolutely nothing for me.  BUT I did squeak in a “pr” in my half marathon by a mere minute, mainly because I was trying to book it home and avoid catching a cold. I think my average pace for the 14 miler was 9:31. Can’t remember, and I’m not worried about it. Just happy to have done it!

14m

So I wanted to blog about this sooner, but never got around to it, but Further Faster Forever [F3] is a pretty cool community that’s having a badge challenge for 17 days. Typically, I loathe long challenges. I lose steam pretty quick, and get annoyed with having to do the same thing day after day – I like having a schedule but not when it’s monotonous and has zero creativity. The F3 guys and gals made a quick challenge in which you can earn up to 67 badges, all focused on swimming, cycling and running, with a few extras thrown in. I’m not a triathlete, and some of the badges are completely out of the question [placing on the podium? laughable at best!] but I’m having fun already because it’s making me think outside of the box. I used to really enjoy swimming, and I really don’t have an excuse as to why I’m not doing it anymore, but the challenge has made me realize that I miss it and should try and do it at least once a week. Anyway, it’s worth checking out – a short, fun challenge that’s self paced, for all types of abilities Smile

badges

So far I’ve only attained the following ONE running related badge, along with some ‘fun’ badges. I might personally extend the challenge for the entire month of March, because it’s diverse enough to keep my interest, but we’ll see. Pretty creative, and it makes me think outside the box. Sweet.

Whirlwind.

2 thoughts on “Whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

