2013, I’ma gitchu.

Well, well, well. Talk about life getting in the way.

While the past two months have been insanely busy, they have also been quite amazing. We moved [down the street], family visited, Christmas happened, etc. Time has also been spent running, but not as much I as I would like. Thankfully, I have the double stroller or else I would literally have zero miles logged lately.

Enough about the past. It’s the end of the year. And we all know what that means. It means that this blog post will be one of the thousands of other blog posts detailing goals set for the next year; races to run, PRs to beat, weight to lose. Yep. I’m going there.

2013 is the first year in a long time that I can actually try and plan. 2012 I was out of commission due to welcoming our son into the family, Army life, and the general craziness of balancing it all. The year prior to that I bounced around the country, then got pregnant and took it easy. 2010 brought a whole new lifestyle in general with my husband joining the military, and my moves between Texas, Ohio and Oklahoma. 2009, our daughter entered the picture. SO yeah, I am officially declaring 2013 MY year. No more babies. Possible moving, but manageable [we are up in the air for another Oklahoma move, maybe not – we could leave as early as this summer, or as late as winter 2014].

Don’t you worry, I have already jump started MY year. I am going for my certification in Fitness Nutrition. To those who know  me, this will come as no surprise whatsoever. I’m a huge food nerd; how and what fuels our bodies, how to maximize potential and why and how things make us tick [or not]. It has always been a passion of mine, and this is just one step in the right direction.

But that’s not all. I’m running a marathon. I know, right!? FINALLY. Freakin’ FINALLY. And, I won’t be alone, as my friend Andi has so kindly put together a group of gals that will run this as well. It will be a blast, and I can’t wait to get started. In fact, we are literally starting the training plan New Year’s Day, with a run at her house. Maybe followed by appetizers and wine… details… Winking smile

My big, huge, “would love to do this” dream? Run an ultra this year. Those who know me also will not be surprised by this either. I started running when I joined the military in 2006, to attain Air Force Physical Fitness standards. Randomly on my way home from work one day, I parked my car at a local trail, hopped out, and ran. I ran, ran, and ran. I fell in love with something on that trail. Be it the freedom, the loneliness, or serene atmosphere – I loved it all. Dabbling in the local road races of Dayton, Ohio, the world of marathoning was always around me. I knew what it was, but something was always calling me back to the trails – I felt that’s were I belonged, and they were my first love. By the end of 2013 I would love to complete a distance of 50 miles. There you have it folks.

I just wish I could tell you where this ultra will be!!

Trails or road?

2013, I’ma gitchu.

5 thoughts on “2013, I’ma gitchu.

  1. runwiki says:

    It’s great to hear from you! Your 2013 sounds exciting… do you know which marathon you are running? It’s always great to train for a big race with friends by your side. I did my first 50K this year and fell in love. I am pondering the idea of a 50 miler as well, but not sure about the time required for the training miles… I should just do it. Have a happy and safe New Year!

  2. Glad to see you posting again! My blog has been pretty scarce too. Things have been super busy adjusting to two but I love your goals for 2013. Hope you had a great Christmas and have a happy New Year!

  3. CHAIR says:

    Love this post! You inspire without even trying! I can’t wait to be part of your journey and follow your progress. What an amazing year this will be!

  4. danelle says:

    You can do it mama! We are both on the same path this year.. no babies, running (i feel like from scratch ugh.) AND school. Oh yea and take care of the kids we already have…lol… virtual cheerleaders?

Leave a Reply

