Jon’s Run – The Pledge

101_0165

 

I have started and deleted this post more times than I care to count.

Folks, *that* time of year is upon us. I feel like every year *it* comes earlier and earlier, the lump in my throat becomes bigger, and my eyes fill up with tears before I can even put thoughts into words.

For those unaware, my older brother, Jon, was killed in Afghanistan November 13, 2008. Though this life altering event happened almost 4 years ago, the wound is fresh and healing is slow. I’m not as angry as I was before, yet now it has transformed into insurmountable sadness. I have a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that he never met my kids. The dagger in my heart is only twisted when I look at them and think of all the cool things their Uncle Jon would have showed him how to do. In fact, when my husband and I started dating, Jon was getting ready to deploy; my husband is yet another part of me who will never have had the chance to meet my brother.

Last year I had a nationwide favor to ask of all my blogging buddies. I wanted people to pledge miles for my brother. Running, walking, cycling, hiking – you name it. If it was physical exertion, it counted. No amount was too small. Over a three day weekend, runners everywhere pledged over 300 miles.

This year, I chose the weekend prior to my brother’s death for the 3 day pledge [nov. 9, 10, 11]. I would love for you to be a part of this. Heck, you can just pledge your walk to the mailbox and I will count it. Jon did not like running. In fact, it wouldn’t surprise me to learn that just before mandatory PT he would have taken a last puff off a cigarette before stretching for a ‘damn run’. He never understood my love for it, and would often jokingly ask who was chasing me.

So… who’s in??

14745_1251111630865_1021727594_30790460_6551460_n

Jon’s Run – The Pledge

9 thoughts on “Jon’s Run – The Pledge

  1. I got a lump in my throat just reading this. I’m sure 4 years later it still doesn’t seem real. *hugs* Of course I’m in! Not sure how many miles right now, but I will let you know.

  2. Without a doubt we are in. Allan’s first half marathon is that weekend and I’m running it as well so we will dedicate that race to Jon. Hugs to you sweet friend!

  3. I’m In!! Without people like your brother our country would not be free. I will honor him on those days and will be praying for you and your family. I’m not sure how much I’ll run/walk but at least 3 miles will be run.

  4. I’m so sorry about your brother! 😦 That week is the first week I’m allowed to run. I will dedicate my miles to him 🙂 Is your brother at the Arlington cemetary? My grandparents are there and I was able to visit them last year before the marathon 🙂

Leave a Reply

