Big news, cops, and a question for YOU!

workout :: 5.6 miles // 9:25 pace

Where have I been the past few months?! Did August sneak up on anyone else? Geez.

So, big news – We’re moving! Same Army post. In fact, this new house is only a mile and a half away. They’re reallocating our neighborhood into a different rank and they’re giving us the option to move. Considering we’re here for another 12-27 months [depending on Army needs] it will definitely be a quality of life improvement. The house is DOUBLE the size, has air conditioning, a 6 ft. privacy fence, an extra room [translation :: playroom/office nook] and numerous other things that “I JUST LOVE” but can’t remember.

The neighborhood’s ribbon cutting ceremony is tomorrow but I have ZERO patience so I made sure my run today included portions of it. My husband “can’t believe” I went back there because “the signs said AUTHORIZED PERSONNEL ONLY” but I figured no one would be back there because its the weekend. Little did I know that there was actually a landscaping crew back there, and I took full advantage of the sprinklers since it was 82 at 9 am. Blessing for sure. Well apparently they didn’t like that at all so a half mile into the neighborhood I was told by ‘police enforcement’ [is that really a cop?] to “exit the premises immediately” which I did because I was at my turn around point anyway Smile. I mean seriously, what was I going to do? I’m clearly on a run – would I seriously haul off construction equipment? No. I wouldn’t have anywhere to put it.

Another gem from my run – I stopped into the shoppette [fancy schmancy term for gas station] for a refill on my water and a Soldier turned to me, confused, and said, “you sure look sweaty, are you running or something?”. No. I was at church. ?? They kill me sometimes. Here I tried out some new Honey Stinger chews, which I love. Get this – they love me [me, meaning my stomach] back!

Lastly, because apparently when I’m out running everyone in the world seems to want to comment on my doing so, I saw a few kids and their mom playing out on the front lawn. Kids frolicking, puppy dozing in the shade, mom smoking in her lawn chair [I didn’t know that people still smoked. Kind of thought they got the memo awhile ago…] and as I was running by mom called out to me, “Careful in this heat!! YOU DON’T WANT TO DIE!!!!”. I bit my tongue and thanked her with a smile when on the inside I was being a judgemental snarker and mentally putting her cigarettes in the trash. *sigh*

Anyway, that’s all I have. Life is good. Babies are awesome. The world goes round.

Hey is anyone out there not friends with electrolyte replacement drinks? Both Gu Tabs and Nuun are starting to give my stomach issues and I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this. It seems as though the older I get the more sensitive my stomach becomes. Think sharp, stabbing gas pains. Sorry, I know, TMI, but it hurts.

Big news, cops, and a question for YOU!

5 thoughts on “Big news, cops, and a question for YOU!

  1. Ah ha!!!! Everything about this is awesome (except for the moving NOT TO FT. BRAGG part). So glad you will be getting a newer, bigger house!
    And really? A smoker? That is so 1990…. I’m glad you didn’t get “apprehended”, that would have made for a lousy rest-of-the-day!! Miss you girl! Hope you can make your way out here before end of next summer!

  2. You are such a rebel and soooo threatening looking! Ha.

    It was 80 degrees at 6am with 70+% humidity level the past two days here…not fun, but will make Fall weather so much easier to run in. At least that is what I keep telling myself as I keep slogging through my runs.

    I can’t tolerate Nuun anymore either. The sorbitol (sugar alcohol) makes my stomach go crazy. I can handle GU Brew Tabs, but I limit myself to one in the morning and one in the afternoon…supplemented by water of course. I have heard good things about Nathan Catalyst Tabs.

    So exciting about your move!

  3. Laura says:

    Wow- so much going on! Congrats on the new house- that’s exciting! And all those running stories are too funny. Like you, I’m not a big fan of gu but I love Honey Stingers… Glad they worked better for you.

  4. Way to get your run in, in this heat! MY husband went out for a run and I rode along side him on my bike because I am a wimp. Seriously, smokers. When I was riding alongside my running hubby today, there was a lady at the park with her kids smoking a cig. Really?! Such a great example. So excited that you are in a bigger and cooler place:) Envious over here in my 88 degree house. I have a sensitive tummy too and I use sharkies. Gluten, dairy, and soy free. No issues for me:)

  5. That’s great you guys are getting to move into a much better house with more space and AC. I can’t believe a solider actually asked you if you were running. What else would you have been doing?!

Leave a Reply

