Stupid, stupid, stupid.

workout :: timed 5k [8:32 pace]

We all have them. Runs that check you. They chew you up and spit you out, then spit on you before taking your shoes. Today I had one of those runs, where I thought a timed 5k would be a good idea. Ya know, on zero food with just as much water at high noon and crazy humidity.

Before I went on my run I took the Big Ass dog out on a quick mile around the neighborhood. Against my best efforts he took off like a bat out of hell, at right over 8 minute miles. Silly me, thinking he might want to do a lazy mile; slowing down a 90 pound dog is not easy when you’re trying to turn your legs over to a pace you never run.

IMG_7051

Anyway, I dropped him back off at home and felt pumped enough to push myself. I got a mile in and immediately regretted my decision. From then on, I stopped about 5 times. While Nike+ calls it my ‘5k PR’, I most definitely won’t. I stopped too many times and the next time I try this I will definitely 1) prepare for it better 2) pace myself 3) stretch before/after because now things hurt that never have before. Whoops.

We went to a local farm yesterday for some produce and bought some amazing berries, so I came home and stole my daughter’s bowl. Damn right I added the whipped cream.

berriesseriously

Until tomorrow. *sigh*

Stupid, stupid, stupid.

7 thoughts on “Stupid, stupid, stupid.

  1. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    It happens… we learn from it. But it does sound like you have some new speed in your legs. Mmm, whipped cream.

  2. That happens to me every time I take my 2 pups for a walk/run. They take off really fast and then after less than a half mile I have to pull them:) Don’t they know how to pace themselves? Nice work getting out there:)

  3. I don’t take our dog Sky running, she pulls the leash and usually knocks my back out (I used to run a lot with her when she was younger, but, in this heat, with her massive coat she gets way too tired – we stick to walks together).

    Your dog is so cute and SO SO Big! Great that you got out there, even if it didn’t go as planned.

Leave a Reply

