Finally.

I ran.

I finally ran.

Never have *two* miles been so hard, reassuring, or emotionally releasing.

Hard? My body was awkward, my shoes felt different, and my arm swing felt like an off beat pendulum. My lungs clearly weren’t used to what I was doing, yet my Garmin was showing pre-pregnancy numbers… Numbers that my legs were all too surprised to churn out.

Reassuring? After working out all of the original kinks, I realized that I was made for this. My body absolutely amazes me – here I am, just two weeks after having our son, running. And no, you won’t hear me complaining about running, ha!

Emotional? Blaming the hormones would be all too easy, but after months of running with awkward pains and extra weight, I finally ran free. I will admit though, a small, teeeeeensy part of me missed the kicks and jabs mid-run from the kiddo that was in there.

For now, I plan to take things slow. I’m starting from square one and injuries due to building mileage too quickly or going in over my head are NOT part of the equation. I have my sights set on a 50k in October, with training starting in July. I will get to the start line, stop at the aid stations, cross the finish line, and hug my family after getting my medal. Hopefully I won’t bore you too much with the details Winking smile

Until then, I have kids to cuddle and a family to love.

Finally.

9 thoughts on “Finally.

  1. Awesome job on your run! And I love your positive attitude about getting back into the groove. Good luck with the many miles you have ahead of you.

    What 50K are you planning on? It seems like a lot of people I talk to are planning to do an ultra this fall.

    Enjoy your family time!
    Tracie

  2. Yay- I’m so glad you got out for a run already and are feeling good! 50k?? You are so motivated, wow! Good for you… I look forward to following along your training journey!

Leave a Reply

