In Limbo

After my jaunt around the neighborhood the other day, I felt great – in fact, I had planned on more runs over the course of the week, as well as walks with my neighbor. I was ecstatic, knowing that I was able to keep some sort of fitness level up this late into my pregnancy.

That notion, however, came crashing down when I had my next appointment. Little dude, just like his big sister, is measuring FOUR weeks behind [I’m 36 weeks, he’s measuring 32; using fundal height]. While doctors insist it has nothing to do with my lifestyle, and that I just carry small babies [more on this later], I have made the decision to stop running/walking. At this point, I’m very proud that I was able to move around for so long.

Small babies run in the family [I know I was], but more so on my Dad’s side. I believe his siblings were all about 5 pounds. Our daughter was 5 lbs, 10 ounces; born at 39 weeks. When pregnant with my daughter, I stopped running around the 25 week mark – yet at 36 weeks, she was only measuring 32, also just using fundal height. I started going in every week for fetal stress tests and growth checks, and every week we got the same result: “she’s measuring perfectly – she’s just a small baby”. While I am being optimistic and saying that this is the case with our son, there is still a small part of me that is bothered by this but unfortunately I can’t get in for an ultrasound until the 23rd… So, for the next few weeks, I’m taking it relatively easy and giving the kiddo as much as he needs by not expending too much extra energy. I know that sounds very sloth-like, but so be it.

I also think that he’ll be here sooner rather than later. Recently, at night, he’s been pushing down on my cervix to where the pain makes me yell out. This is also causing contractions… so things are a bit crazy here! Unfortunately this has started to happen throughout the day. While I am doing less, I still need to be a mom/ do laundry/dishes/housework so to have to take so many breaks is a little frustrating.

The good news is that if he does decide to come early [as in, TONIGHT, even…] we are *thisclose* to being ready. I have his clothes washed, his crib is ready, we have diapers and the only thing left to do is install the car seat. Which, in reality, my husband could probably do in his sleep. I also have to finish packing my hospital bag, which should be done by tonight.

Thank GOD my mom is able to come for the next couple of weeks, because what really stinks is that my husband will be in the field during that time. During the day if ‘something’ happens I’ll be able to reach him, but we have yet to figure out a plan for overnight emergencies…

I would love for this kid to stay put until my actual due date, and I’m even ok with him staying late – just for the sake of growing. I don’t see that happening [honestly, I’ll be surprised to make it to May], so I’ll continue to be optimistic!

Any guesses on when he’ll be here?  His size?

Do you think I should invest in a flare gun in case I need to reach my husband at night?

In Limbo

9 thoughts on “In Limbo

  1. runwiki says:

    My guess is that he is coming closer to your due date.. just a wild guess. So glad your Mom is coming. Being a military wife is so challenging sometimes. I have so much empathy.
    I was not able to reach Rob for both of my birth’s… Because he was out in the field, you ask? NO because he forgot to charge his cell phone.. arrived just as I was delivering.. that still makes the hair on my head stand up..Hope you have a great weekend. Sending you good vibes for that boy to stay put. xo

  2. If your intuition says early he will probably be early! I knew my daughter would come early and I knew when I was in labor but the hospital sent me home only for me to come back at 2 am in the morning measuring 9.5!! She came at 38 weeks and 6 days! My guess is 38 weeks and 5 days 🙂 I would get a flare gun, sounds like a good idea.

  3. I’d like to guess when he’ll be here and how much he’ll weigh, but I’m TERRIBLE at that game. Lol. I just hope everything goes ok and everybody is healthy & happy. Good luck friend!

  4. Thought I already commented on this, but it looks like I didn’t! You’re so near the end, no worries about cutting out the running in terms of fitness, you did amazing getting this far! You sound positive about it all, hope he’s here soon!

  5. runforwine says:

    So your saying it could be any day now?? Woah! And is today your u/s? I hope so, since the supsense is killing me. It must be pure torture for you.

  6. OK, I’m waiting for updated posts! I was going to say that castor oil worked for me twice – but I’m hoping you are already in labor or with a cute new baby and ready to train with a stroller for your marathon! Woo hoo!!!

Leave a Reply

