Checking In

Just wanted to duck in and say a little hello!

I’m not going to lie – I’ve thought about shutting the blog down a few times in the past month. I don’t know if I’ll have time to continue a normal blog once the baby gets here, and to be honest its really nice to not ‘have’ to blog – a notion that lasts a few days/weeks at a time. Who knows though, a few months ago I was working a blog redesign with a friend and planning to move domains and everything… maybe once I am regularly back to running I’ll blog more often, but until then I’ll probably just have random updates whenever. This is a running [ok, and yoga… and ‘mom’…] blog, but one thing I refuse to turn it into is an all out “kid ONLY” blog. I’m not knocking those that have them, but this started as a running/yoga blog, and that’s how I want it to stay. Yes, life dynamics have changed since then, and I want to document the process as I go, but at 33 weeks of pregnancy, I don’t have much “going” on if you know what I mean! I also promise that I’m reading your blogs as well, though I might not always comment!

Right now I am 33 weeks along with little dude, and the running days are officially oooooover. I am thrilled that my body [and baby!] let me run this long – I made it 6 weeks farther than I was able to run during my first pregnancy! My hips and knees ache every morning, as well as my back and while I have been doing yoga almost daily, I can’t just stay in Cow Pose for hours on end. With Waylynn also creating more room for himself, it makes anything more than walking extremely exhausting and I am wiped out just from walking around the house doing chores. Apparently, I am that wimpy pregnant lady!! I also had a “scare” last week where I thought I was having real contractions – they were about a minute long every 4 minutes or so, until I realized they were Braxton Hicks contractions. I never had those with my daughter, so it was quite alarming having to go through that for the first time – after a few glasses of water and moving around a bit they went away, but if that’s not my body telling me to slow down, I don’t know what is.

Congrats to all of those who not only raced this past weekend, but it seems like many of you PR’ed!! That’s pretty exciting, and I’ve loved reading all of your recaps. If you need me, I’ll be getting work done, puttering around the house, entertaining a toddler, and trying not to fall asleep anywhere I sit down for more than 45 seconds. Smile

7 thoughts on “Checking In

  1. Hang in there. Don’t shut down the blog, just update whenever you can and don’t worry about it:) Glad you are doing Yoga, I’m sure little dude loves it!

  2. Don’t stop blogging! But especially don’t feel pressured to. We have enough stress in our lives. We still want to read your witty posts even if it is only once a week, once every two weeks…you have important stuff to say!

  3. I agree with the above… keep the blog alive!! I love reading your posts. No need to beat yourself up for posting sporadically, it’s to be expected when you’re pregnant and even more so when little one makes an appearance. We’ll still be here. :) Great job running as long as you did… you’re getting so close to the end!

  4. I would be very sad if you closed for good. I have said in the past and will say again, that your blog stands out as the best among so many. I really enjoy reading your updates even though they may not be about running. You have the gift of being able to connect with your reader.. so few have this. People who enjoy your blog will wait for you to get past this phase in your life. You don’t need to blog everyday or even every week just as you do not need to run everyday or week. Right now you are focused on your family, what you should be doing. You can always come back to this, just like you will return to running. Your loyal readers will still be here awaiting your mindful and “from your heart” posts. xo

  5. It’s not letting me leave a comment!!! (had to use my FB account-It’s Allison from Johnson Jocks)

    Ok, I think I finally figured it out.

    Don’t leave! Hang in there, mama. It’s almost baby time. You will be back to running soon.

  6. Girl there is nothing wrong with blogging whatever, whenever. I kinda hate those bloggers that are always apologizing for not blogging every day. I hate reading blogs that post everyday. Your life is not that exciting (not yours – but everyday bloggers) that you need to mention every detail. I think everything is just perfect the way it is. There is no law about blogging. Don’t leave!

    I totally feel you on the ‘kid only’ blog. I’m posting about pregnancy stuff mostly for me because I want to make a photo book so I know this is the only way I will keep at it. Plus, I like that it’s attracted other runners who are pregnant or TTC that I may never have known otherwise. Trust me, I will be spewing running talk again too.

Leave a Reply

