Chakras

No, not Chaka Khan.

More like, chakras, in yoga.

In layman’s terms, chakras are seven energy ‘centers’ located throughout your body. Each of these chakras can be open, under active, or over active. This website will give you a rundown on what not only each chakra is, but will also describe how you use [or don’t use] your energies. Fun part? There’s a QUIZ. Lunch break? Rainy day? Killing time at the Doctor’s office? Just humor yourself and take the quiz! There’s about 50 questions, but I promise they are all painless and simple to answer. I fell into the trap of thinking about the questions too much, because there are times where I “definitely rely on the insight of someone else” – so long as that someone else is my husband or family member, not so much a bum off the street. So, take the quiz with a grain of salt, but you might just learn something about yourself. I’ll share my results here, since you are all strangers and can laugh at me through the safety of your computer screen. Smile 

chakra

Root “being physically there and feeling at home in situations” :: Underactive. This means I tend to be fearful or nervous and I easily feel unwelcome. I will admit that I can relate to this. Sure, I have my worries and anticipation about the future, like any other person. In the past year or so I have been focusing on becoming a more positive person, so I would like to think that I’m changing this. However, I do feel easily unwelcome in new or large gatherings. The first run group I went to, I about turned around and went back home. The first “Spouse’s coffee” we had for my husband’s work about sent me into an anxiety attack… So yeah, needless to say, you won’t be finding me at Times Square on New Year’s any time soon.

Sacral “about feeling and sexuality” :: Underactive. The site says I tend to be stiff and unemotional or have a "poker face," and that I am not very open to people. I have been told by numerous friends that when they first met me they thought I was a jerk because I kept to myself a lot. So, yes, around people I don’t know, I do tend to keep a ‘poker face’, but around those I feel like I can be ‘real’ around, the emotions definitely flow.

Navel “about asserting yourself in a group” :: Apparently SUPER underactive. I am probably timid and don’t get what you want, am passive and indecisive. Ouch. Dead on. Get me in a group, and I’ll be the little follower in the back row, wondering what the hell I’m doing there. My husband, however, would be the one organizing everything from fire escape routes to pizza parties.  I have always had a notion that I am better off either by myself or an intimate group of people, and this proves me right!

Heart “about love, kindness and affection” :: Open. I am compassionate and friendly, and work at harmonious relationships. So, basically, if you get past my ‘stranger danger’ barrier, you have it made because I’ll be your friend for life. I think this explains why I have a very select few best friends, as opposed to an entire mass of people I ‘kind of’ know.

Throat “about self-expression and talking” :: Open. I have no problems expressing myself, and might be doing so as an artist. Whoa. “Artist”? I can barely draw a stick figure. But get me riled up on a certain subject, and I do better writing my feelings and emotions down, than I do saying them out loud. As a kid I dreamed about writing books for a living, but instead I just have my lowly little blog in the corner of the internet Smile 

Third Eye “insight and visualization” :: *this has always been my favorite chakra* Open, which means I have good intuition but may tend to fantasize. Ah yes. Daydreaming is my middle name, although its not so out of control that realism doesn’t seep in there as well. I like to think myself as a very intuitive person, and yes, I am one of those weirdos that can ‘just tell’ when things are going to happen. During meditation, I will sometimes focus on my Third Eye and just get lost in the nothingness. Love it. Honestly, I’m not surprised that I scored ‘highest’ on this chakra.

Crown “wisdom and being one with the world” :: Open. I am unprejudiced and quite aware of the world and myself. I firmly believe this correlates with my Third Eye chakra. The self awareness is there, and I hate not knowing what is going on around me. I will admit that I haven’t always been this way, and I have molded myself to have more situational awareness. Back in the day, I *may* have bought a car with manual transmission car without knowing how to drive it… not because I was too stupid to realize it, I just figured I would learn to drive it on the way home… longest car ride ever, and I only stalled twice.

What were your results?

If you didn’t take the quiz, what do you think your strongest chakra would be? Weakest?

Or are you a realist that believes this is all hippie crap? don’t be afraid to admit this – I was in that boat once, but that’s for a different post Smile

Chakras

10 thoughts on “Chakras

  1. Hippie crap, all of it.

    I used to work at a place that was big on personality tests (like Myer Briggs and others) and every test pretty much told me that I gravitate to leadership positions and my main weakness is my failure to control the shit that comes out of my mouth.

  2. A little granola woo woo..but fun, nonetheless. I scored highest on the Scral.. doesn’t surprise me. Next highest was Heart and Crown..lowest score Naval and Root. I have never been a fan of Naval oranges or root veggies..I wonder if there is any connection? just kidding of course.

  3. So interesting! I didn’t get to take it yet, but suspect that my results would be very similar to yours. I tend to be more passive and hold back in large groups, but have a tight, small group of friends. I’ve pushed myself in job roles and other areas to take on more leadership, so I think I’ve grown a lot in that area. You are definitely artistic– love your writing style!

  4. Underactive onthe heart and throat, open in the first few ones, and I’m way high in the third eye(95!). I cant remember the last chakra but that’s high too! Fun!

Leave a Reply

