Lemons? What Lemons??

First off, a huge MY BAD to those new readers leaving comments – I didn’t know that I had to initially approve your comment in order to let the blog just let your next comments show… Whoops.

What a day. Though my husband had staff duty today, Kara and I had pretty big plans. A good friend invited us to check out their church, and from there I planned to get a quick run in before heading to a running buddy’s Superbowl Party.

Then, life intervened, just like it aaaaalways does; when you least want it too. Kara’s been sniffly lately but developed a cough yesterday. So bad, that this morning she physically got sick from it. Yikes. I cancelled on church, wincing at the image of a vomit covered pew. Jesus would not approve.

New plans – Stay home. Get cuddles. Play it by ear. Make soup. Watch the Superbowl in pj’s.

Luckily, it was 55 and sunny out and the absence of puke led me to believe that fresh air would do everyone some good… So I laced up, and off we went.

I ROCKED my run for two miles to Husband’s work in record time (ahem, in pregnant lady record time) said hi, and hung out for a bit. Apparently I hung out too long, and about .55 after the turnaround I started getting cramps. From there, I was able to walk/run the rest of the third mile, and afer that I called the running quits and walked the rest of the way home.

Though I am kind of forced to do so, I feel like I am coming to terms with not being able to run how I want. BUT, If I can do 4 miles of anything for the rest of the pregnancy I will be beyond elated. Run/walk/”wogging” – whatever. Being temporarily derailed (and for a more than amazing cause!) is fine and it doesn’t change my passion for running.

Anyway, if you Need me I’ll be eating ice cream. 🙂 Hope y’all had a great weekend!!

Did you run this weekend?
When life gets in the way, do you err on the side of caution or go with the flow and see what happens?
Will you do my dishes?

Lemons? What Lemons??

10 thoughts on “Lemons? What Lemons??

  1. Dude…I don’t even do my OWN dishes! That’s man’s work round these parts 😉

    I tend to err on the side of caution. And Jesus would only not approve of vomit on the pews because it meant that the little sweetie should’ve just stayed home and cuddled (which she did!) and not because of the vomit. He’s a nice guy. And you’re a good mom 🙂

    I ran…in a race. It was fun.

  2. I didn’t run this weekend…. whoops. I NEED to try out my new NB shoes! When life gets in the way, sometimes I’m grateful because usually it’s just what I need. And yes, I will do your dishes. I actually like doing dishes. 🙂

  3. No running here. Snow and ice on the roads and I don’t want to get lost in a non-English speaking country. I can’t wait to get home and go for a run! Glad you were able to get some running in:) jealous of your weather. Of course it gets warm right when I leave!

  4. By the end of my pregnancy, a 2 mile walk felt like it should have earned me a badge of honor. 😛 I’m impressed that you’re still running!

  5. If I lived closer, I would gladly do your dishes. It is actually one of my favorite chores. Crazy, huh?

    When it comes to illness, I always err on the side of caution. I don’t want to get anyone sick. Any other situation, I attempt to stick to my plan.

  6. chechi says:

    Does two blocks count? Addie & Mizzie lead the way! — I’ll be glad to do your dishes! 😉 — I’m so happy that you’re safely running! — oh… even though nobody told you this… the cleanning volunteers at chuch are very thankful that you did not cause additional work! ;-O —

  7. I hate doing the dishes, but do it anyway because I hate bath time even more (I always have to get into the bath, because I get so wet!). I miss our old houses and their dishwashers.

    I didn’t run, did go to the gym twice, but it’s sunny and I’m super hopeful for a run while they nap in the stroller!

  8. My run on Saturday with Wear Blue was totally awesome. I don’t remember the last time I felt that good during a run. Can we say ” Runners High” ?

    I tend to err on the side of caution. Better safe than sorry…in most cases that is.

    I hate dishes!! I need someone to do mine.

  9. I am typing this as I stare at the dirty dishes sitting on our counter and the green button is lit up on the dishwasher telling me those dishes are clean. It’s on my list for today so hopefully it will get done!

Leave a Reply

