Gratitude & Rising Above

beanrun

This morning sucked. I was in a funk – the kind that you’re in from paying bills in the morning, if you catch my drift. Either way, this funk stuck with me for the entire morning; until I finally talked myself into going for a run. It was gorgeous – the sun was out, it was in the high 40s and basically the world was telling me to get out there.

Given the history of my recent runs, I got dressed begrudgingly. I figured I would have a half mile ‘run’, then end up walking about 2 miles before calling my ‘outing’ quits. I packed up food for the kid, loaded up some extra books in case she got bored, and began my run.

I was so, so wrong. And in this case, I did not mind one single bit.

3 miles, 9:34 pace, with zero cramps or contractions. I am still in disbelief and pray that it wasn’t a fluke.

For someone who thought she was down and out, a run like this almost brought me to tears. I know that sounds incredibly cheesy, but the only comparison I can make is to maybe relate it to an injury. You’re on the backburner, licking your wounds, and so many questions go through your mind, but then – one day, you run. And you run without complication. That feels so freakin’ amazing.

Today, I fell back in love with not only running, but with my body. I am so thankful that I can do this, and I will not be taking my ability to be mobile for granted. Not every one can run. Not every one can be active during pregnancy. Not every one can be active, one week away from their third trimester. The list goes on and on. But, here I sit, still beaming from my run, and nothing can take that feeling away from me.

Are you grateful [in a sense] for crappy runs?

Have you had a run recently blow your mind with how it went?

Should I eat the popcorn or the Almond Joy??

Gratitude & Rising Above

16 thoughts on “Gratitude & Rising Above

  1. Vanessa says:

    I totaaly understand those days when I am in a funk and its usually no reason why…I’m just grumpy! Many times a good run helps but sometimes I’m so grumpy I don’t even feel like running…rare, but sometimes. When I have days like this I will listen to my music or read God’s word. Hopefully then I put things in perspective. Anyways, to answer your question yes I am thankful for crappy runs cause even my crappy
    run is awesome to others. I’m just thankful I c
    an run. Crappy day or crappy run, the good news is that tomorrow is a new day. Now, I would eat the popcorn with the almond joy mixed in. 🙂

  2. I appreciate crappy runs when I’m able to complete them. It helps me realize that just because it’s difficult, I can still finish and I shouldn’t make excuses.

    As for crappy runs that I cannot complete, I try and find some sort of lesson, like did I purposely try to overachieve, setting myself up for failure? Were there body signals (stress, tiredness, etc) that I didn’t pay attention to? Hopefully being aware of these will help me in the future.

    I’m glad you had a great run! The weather has been amazing here so I’m trying to make the most of it.

  3. i learned awhile back that sometimes my crappy runs are actually just what I need to remember how much i love running. it’s made it a lot easier to take them in stride and just keep plugging along

  4. I love it how a good run can pull me out of a funk! I remember toward the end of pregnancy having a mix of really good and really awful runs, so hang in there… and keep trying! So glad you had a good one. LOVE your daughter stretching! 🙂

  5. runforwine says:

    Wow! Solid run girl. That’s great. Aren’t you glad you weren’t a negative Nancy and didn’t throw in the towel. Good on you!

    Are both popcorn and almond joy off limits for gluten intolerance?? I’m totally ignorant on that subject.

Leave a Reply

