I Swear, I’m Running TONIGHT

Promise.

I didn’t do anything all weekend but rearrange rooms and clean out our storage shed. To balance out the crazy, I decided to sloth it up a bit and became attached to the couch for a good part of Sunday afternoon.

Worth noting :: a buddy of mine from college is doing a complete re-design of my blog [!!!], and to celebrate the new launch I’m having a giveaway. I’ll also be moving my site, which after 5 years is a little heartbreaking, but I’m looking forward to it. So, stay tuned for THAT!!!!

My Monday has been quite crazy, and even lunch was eaten on the move. This morning I had the parenting class again, and the purpose of the class is to reduce stress by being more mindful. You would think that this would come naturally to humans, but caught up in the reality of LIFE, sometimes [ok, a lot of the times] it is easy to forget. I jumped at the chance to take this class. As parents, dealing with the day to day, we struggle to find patience for everything. Take a simple military family – dad works all day, surrounded by work stress, rumor mill stress, and in my husband’s case – soldier care stress. Mom might stay home with the kids, which can be stressful in and of itself; not to mention cleaning, feeding, keeping kids entertained, etc. A lot of military spouses also run an at home businesses, so there is additional stress thrown on top of sharing a good chunk of your husband’s work related stress. At the end of the day, its possible that everyone is at their wits’ end, and there is still daylight to burn.

This class helps a lot with not only honing in on your own emotions, but your kids’ and spouses as well. In the two classes I’ve gone too, I’ve already applied what I’m learning, and I may or may not be nerding out completely and reading ahead…

[source]

In every class we also do two meditation exercises. Today, there was a particular exercise that threw me for a loop. The teachers mentioned ‘walking meditation’ and I immediately furrowed my brow. What!? I need to close my eyes to meditate. How will I picture my stream? Its hard enough to meditate with my eyes closed, there’s no way I can do this… Well, I tried. And failed. Failed, oh so miserably. But – that’s the beauty of it. I know it doesn’t work for me, and that’s ok.

However, it was mentioned in class that someone did have success with it, which made me curious as all get out. The individual was in tune with their body, and felt as though the ground was giving them renewed energy with every step. They walked outside, their breathing correlated with their steps, and the entire process was very calming for them.

I listened to this individual describe their experience, and it hit me like a ton of bricks. What this person felt during the walking meditation, made me realize that this is how I feel when I run. Sure, not every run is totally Zen, but the majority of them are. I zone out, listen to my footfalls, focus on my breathing, and just run. I don’t run with music, I try and keep to a quieter route, and often times my mind just totally goes. For the record, I don’t do this on purpose, it just kind of happens.

In contrast, I definitely do have runs where my mind is a million miles an hour, and everything goes through my mind. From a grocery list, to what the hell Demi Moore was thinking this past weekend – its all there. Topped off with loud, angry music – you would think I was a deranged beast.

Would you say you’re a Zen runner?

Are you a deranged beast runner?

Or do you just go with the flow?

How was your Monday!?

I Swear, I’m Running TONIGHT

6 thoughts on “I Swear, I’m Running TONIGHT

  1. Sometimes I’m a zen runner, but when I run with the kid I don’t even remember I’m running because I’m so stressed about keeping her content. 🙂

  2. I’ve gotta agree with Kara, I’m not a zen runner when L is along… my husband’s aunt likes to mow a labyrinth of sorts in their lawn for meditative walks. I haven’t tried it, but like you, find it easier on runs than walks to zone out, for whatever reason.

  3. I love this. I am not always a Zen runner, but it does happen for me especially on long runs and those are always the best, most renewing runs. This post was such a great reminder of yet another reason why I love running 🙂
    Can’t wait to see the new blog!!

  4. runforwine says:

    That’s one of the (if not THE) best part of being a runner. Mind clearing runs. They.are.the.best. I wouldn’t be a runner if I didn’t experience that.

Leave a Reply

