Rain and Pregnancy Weirdness

The Rain :: Let’s face it, we’re in the Pacific Northwest – it rains a lot. And guess what? I can finally say that I’m used to it. Hell. I think I even like it. Sure, it took me… 10 months… but the point is that I think I would rather adapt to my situation that continue to complain about it. In the process, I took in a true beauty for this place. No joke, when I heard rain falling on the roof I immediately went to the blinds and opened them up. My family might think I’m losing my mind but I can safely say that I would rather have rainy days and cooler temperatures than the humidity and heat of south Texas. Granted, I miss the crap out of Texas, and honestly it’s a little hard to put into words – the hill country, the state pride… blue bell ice cream… its just “Texas”. But, I do not miss the weather.

We were watching Storage Wars last night [the show is set in California] and I gagged every time they showed people dripping with sweat from the 104 degree heat. No thanks. You might not learn to ‘love’ the rain, but it just becomes a way of life around here – you don’t really let it stop you, but I promise it gets easier the more time you spend here. Running in it is a whole other animal though; and if you know me at all you know that I am not exactly the first one to lace up while its sprinkling out. This IS becoming easier – with every run in the rain, I know I can do it – its just a matter of getting out there.

Pregnancy Weirdness :: Speaking of running, I have decided to put it on hold until my doctor’s appointment tomorrow afternoon. The week has been quite busy, so I haven’t been able to get the running stroller out, and I have to wait until my husband gets home from work to run. Typically, this isn’t a big deal, but lately I’ve been having weird ‘feelings’. Around 5 pm my stomach will get hard [and stay hard], and feel extremely tight, with the occasional cramp in my right side. It feels similar to a side stitch, but more ‘cramp’ish. This sensation is hard to describe and also makes me a little nervous because I don’t remember feeling this way until my final month in Kara’s pregnancy. I have only have this ‘weirdness’ since about Saturday – it happens in the late afternoon, and sticks around until I go to bed. Very rarely I will also have cramps [like PMS cramping] so I have no idea what is going on.

As reassurance, Waylynn has been moving around extra and definitely letting me know everything is hunky dory on his end. I am *much* bigger at 25 weeks now than I was with our daughter, so for all I know this might just be my body telling me that its tired and to give it a rest. We’ll see. I am not necessarily worried about it, but I deem it worth mentioning to the doctor, and forgoing activity until then. Look for the update tomorrow!!

So that is that – hope everyone is having an amazing Tuesday Smile

Rain and Pregnancy Weirdness

10 thoughts on “Rain and Pregnancy Weirdness

  1. I always swore I’d never complain about rain being that it rains like 14 days a year here. But complaining about the heat is the one I need to work on. Ya I’m that sweaty guy in CA 351 days of the year.

  2. runforwine says:

    I love this post! And I love that your coming around 🙂 Our weather had ADD.

    I’m glad you have an appointment tomorrow to ease your worries. My guess (and I have NO CLUE what I’m talking about so this is all very scientific) is that your body has ‘been there done that’ so maybe it’s just getting ahead of itself and moving along faster than the first.

  3. Good idea to take a rest. You definitely get used to the rain. I have lived in the Seattle area for around 31 years and I love the rain less and less as time goes on. However, sometimes it is nice to snuggle on the couch with a good book and the fire roaring, while listening to the rain on the roof:) I have found that as long as I have a hat with a bill to keep the rain off my face when I run, I don’t really notice it until I stop running and ring out my clothes.

  4. Good job taking it easy and listening to your body. Sounds like it might be Braxton Hicks, but hopefully some extra water and rest will take care of it!

  5. I was also going to say it sounds like Braxton Hicks, probably nothing serious, but worth chatting with your doctor about. We’re just passing through Tx from the northeast, here for 2 years, so the summer was a bit rough, but I am LOVING the lack of winter right now! 🙂

  6. crazy, braxton-hicks this early?!? Hope your dr. appointment goes okay and probably a good call to rest until you get some info from your doctor! I’m much bigger with my first too, I guess you show/get larger with the second!

  7. I’ve only been here since September and have gotten use to the rain. I’m having a harder time adjusting to the lack of sunshine than the actual rain. I’m glad to hear that it gets easier with time. I don’t let it stop me and honestly, I think running is what has been keeping me sane in this gloomy state…and of course all the wonderful people.
    btw…i had the same thing with my second pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

