Redemption

Once again my blogging buddies come to my rescue. Your words helped me realize that we’re allowed bad runs, and that its ok to slow down. Deep down, I know this. I just need to come around. I promise not to complain as much the more this pregnancy progresses. Winking smile

I think tonight’s run helped me realize that just because my pace is creeping up into the ‘omgosh that’s really slow for me’ zone – its not about the numbers but about WHAT I’m doing. I enjoy running. I shouldn’t let numbers regulate how much I enjoy it, when its clearly my body making the rules [for now]. Next spring, I know that I will be back at square one with training, but I also know my hard work will be so worth it. I’m already throwing around late fall/early winter marathons around in my head, hoping that something will come to fruition but I’m trying to be patient.

Anyone who knows me, is fully aware that my patience threshold hovers right at zero. I start cringing when people run late, I glance at my phone incessantly when I’m expecting a phone call, and I even feel myself getting anxious when my daughter is figuring out a new puzzle. It’s an issue. I have even LESS patience with myself, in college I took the maximum course load available because I just did not want to deal with one more class that next semester.

But enough about me – onto the chilly 5 mile run. A friend mentioned yesterday that maybe I should try sipping on electrolytes during the day to ease up the quads issue. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this sooner, but I did just that, and stretched throughout the day. Suiting up for the run, confident that they wouldn’t be an issue, I was proven wrong about the 1.5 mile mark. Granted, it was later in the run and the feeling wasn’t as strong, but it still bothered me. I ran through it, and thankfully it went away, only to come back one other time during the run. I also wore thicker tights, which might have helped; but I’ll never know. I’m foam rolling tonight to see if I can’t work out some kinks, and depending on how I feel I might run again tomorrow and aim for a 6 or 7 miler over the weekend.

We’ll see*.

* Did that sound patient enough??

Are you patient?

What do you do when things are out of your control?

Redemption

6 thoughts on “Redemption

  1. I’m not patient at ALL. Like you, I took 18 or 22 credits a semester in college because once I knew what I wanted to do, I just wanted to DO it already. 🙂

    1. Exactly. I HATED all the stupid ‘fluff’ classes. I would much rather take an extra class that goes towards my degree than some stupid underwater basket weaving class.

Leave a Reply

