2011 Running Journal

rj

I love keeping track of my runs, and I love writing so it would seem natural to me that I take my runs to pen and paper. At first, they consisted of my run’s mileage, overall time and pace; with maybe a sentence summary of my run. That did not last long. I slowly started adding in when I bought new shoes, or when I ran a new route. The space it took me to write 7 entries, now only lasts 2, sometimes 3. I love documenting everything I do on my runs; the good, the bad and the ugly. Included are not only physical observations, but emotional ones as well. While I’m saddened that another year means closing this running journal for good, I’m also ecstatic that I get to open one for 2012. I am getting excited just THINKING about which notebook I’ll even pick out for the coming year. And to decorate it!? I am nerding out hardcore. My running journal is something I look forward to seeing after every run; and even more so I love looking back on what I have accomplished during the year.

Guess I will start from the top Smile I hesitate to say I had horrible mileage in 2011. We moved from Oklahoma to Washington, I picked up a part-timish job while staying home with our daughter, I am still adapting to the weather in the Pacific Northwest and became pregnant in the fall. Throw a lack of motivation and a couple of minor injuries, and I had a pretty low key year in the terms of mileage. So try not to make fun of me, ok? Winking smile

January :: Fort Still, Oklahoma :: 70 miles. My very first run was for 6 miles on the 2nd. I had forgot my watch but had also discovered Phedippidations Podcasts, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I did what I thought was ‘speed work’ but really it was lazy and I had no idea what I was actually capable of. One of the hardest runs of my life took place this month, which you can read a crazy recap of here.

February :: Fort Sill, Oklahoma :: 44.91 miles. IT Band sidelined me for almost a couple of weeks. Here, I became super paranoid about my IT Band, and its affects on my sanity if it were to keep me from running for an even longer amount of time. During this month, I also focused a lot on exactly what I was doing with running, and the aspects of it. This laid the groundwork for the next few months; focusing on stretching, and strength training. My first run in Washington occurred here, but it was at my sister in law’s house and I don’t ‘exactly’ count it.

entry

March :: Fort Lewis, Washington :: 36.44. We moved to Washington this month, and I wasn’t able to run for about a week. I explored the post a lot, donned with my running stroller and also joined up with Run to Remember.

April :: Fort Lewis, Washington :: 32.85. Started training for the Seattle Rock’n’Roll Half. We also had our first family fun run with my Husband’s Battery, which was a blast!! I look forward to those in the future. Having my gait analyzed this month helped me increase my speed, and I cannot believe its been so long since I did this – I still focus on this on every run and it has yet to become automatic. My little brother also came home from his deployment, one of the highlights of the year.

May :: Fort Lewis // Green Lake, Washington :: 51 miles. My longest run this month was a lovely 10 miler that I chose to run with a stroller. I vividly remember this run, I actually had to take a couple of work phone calls even… Ha! I also had a few runs around Green Lake while visiting family in Seattle, which are always fun but a little cramped for my liking.

June :: Fort Lewis // McChord Air Force Base, Washington :: 35.36. I really don’t know what happened here!! Ran the half and had a couple of frustrating runs, but I also explored a bit of McChord Air Force Base.

goals

July :: Fort Lewis, Washington :: 56.66 miles. I did Jon’s Birthday Run, and at the start of the month I took a break for knee and IT Band issues. Mid-month I was plagued yet again by these issues, and broke my mile PR [8:18] by a second; a record that still stands [currently 8:17]. I continued training for Marine Corps, and my longest run was a 12 miler at a 9:19 pace. I also started doing speed work correctly, on a track, with solid numbers; not just meandering my way through a made up treadmill session.

August :: Fort Lewis, Washington // Fort Bragg, North Carolina :: 84.68 miles. This was my highest mileage month [please don’t laugh] for the year. The first of the month brought another fun run with the Battalion, and an amazing 15 miler around Fort Lewis’ airfield. I also took a leap of faith after months of IT Band and knee issues, bought new Asics, and haven’t had an issue since. The rest of the month brought a series of runs at Fort Bragg, which I would have never survived if it weren’t for Amanda. She was/is a complete BLESSING when it came to motivation and completing our long runs.

September :: Fort Bragg, North Carolina // Fort Lewis, Washington :: 38 miles. Found out I was pregnant with Waylynn! Husband and I made the decision to not run the Marine Corps Marathon, a decision that to this day I feel confident was the right choice. My mileage suffered BIG time. Between fatigue and family visits, my butt was kicked hardcore, but I did manage two 14 mile runs.

pregnancygoals

October :: Fort Lewis, Washington :: 17 measly miles. Um, yeah. I had an amazing run, but again, the fatigue was draining me like no other.

November :: Fort Lewis, Washington :: 18 lame miles. I entered my second trimester, but could only manage a smattering of runs here and there. The blogging community was heaven sent as we ran 311.07 miles in honor of my brother. I set some goals for the pregnancy, some of which I have already met. I had a great run on Thanksgiving, which seemed to kick start a new passion for pregnant lady running. Winking smile

December :: Fort Lewis, Washington // Fayetteville, North Carolina // Dayton, Ohio :: miles undetermined. This might not be the highest milage month ever, but I think it has definitely been my favorite. I have had numerous runs with my husband, I am starting to [finally] adapt to colder weather, and while my running hasn’t been the fastest ever, I am maintaining a level of fitness during the pregnancy and that makes me smile. Smile I’ll have at least 40 miles this month, which will bring me to about 520ish miles for the year.

One thought on “2011 Running Journal

  1. Great job this year! I love the idea of writing down your runs. Hubby got me a new journal for Christmas so maybe I’ll start actually writing them down. :)

Leave a Reply

