Dreams

 

— Cranberries, because they’re a Thanksgiving staple; but a song about Dreams. We have come full circle and the post hasn’t even started.

 

Hope you all had an amazing Thanksgiving! Ours was low key and super fun; Husband’s brother and his girlfriend came in from out of town, and like any other Thanksgiving, we made way too much food, ate way too much food, and spent the rest of the afternoon grazing on … you guessed it, way too much food. In my gluttony, I decided to eat the crap out of some croissants and various other gluten-laden products. Long story short, my stomach hates me, and I am getting ZERO sympathy from the rest of the household. Boo.

Anyway, that’s not why I’m blogging. I had crazy dreams last night. Not like this one [yes that is Val Kilmer, circa 1985]  –

 

What was fun about these dreams? Luckily, the ones I remember were ALL about running.

Apparently yesterdays’ trail run left a little more than just a simple impression on my psyche. Though it was POURING all day long, I timed it perfectly, and stepped out the door during a break in the rain. The sun came out, but while the trails were slick, they were picturesque, calming, and very impressionable. There’s just something about running by a lake in the fall that leaves me at a loss for words – so my brain decided to relive it during my sleep. Loved it.

Another dream included eating brunch at Olive Garden [Um. I don’t like Olive Garden, so I don’t know what this was all about.] and in walks Sally and Sarah [I stalk follow them on Twitter, so yes, I’m on a first name basis.] from Oiselle. They come right up to me, and they offer me a contract. I know right? I was just as confused as you are. They wanted to coach me while running during my pregnancy, but they were more so interested in coaching me to my first marathon and a half PR, postpartum. Pretty sweet dream, if you ask me.

Lastly, I had yet another running dream where I was out with a ‘buddy’ [phantom runner that apparently didn’t weird me out at the time] where we just ran and talked. Maybe I’m missing running with someone, who knows, but I do remember it being a super short dream.

I’m not really *trying* to analyze these dreams, because they were fun and random, and well – they were about running, so I’m cool with that Smile For fun though, this is what dreammoods.com says about running.

Running
To dream that you are running away from someone indicates an issue that you are trying to avoid. You are not taking or accepting responsibility for your actions. In particular, if you are running from an attacker or any danger, then it suggests that you are not facing and confronting your fears.

To dream that you are trying to run but cannot make your feet move as fast as you want them to signifies lack of self-esteem and self-confidence. It may also reflect your actual state of REM paralysis during the dream state.

To dream that you are running alone refers to your determination and motivation in the pursuit of your goals. You will find success and rise above those around you. Alternatively, the dream may mean that you need to hurry up in making a decision.

To dream that you are running with someone signifies cooperation.

Dreams

One thought on “Dreams

  1. I love that song by the Cranberries. Glad you had a gluttonous Thanksgiving. We did too, but not nearly as bad without all his family here… we’d eat a full meal before the full meal, and his family has been known to even order pizza the night of Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

