Determination

Thank you all, so very very much for your kind words!! I hate complaining on the blog, because I feel that is all I do but sometimes I just can’t help myself. You guys definitely help me more than you’ll ever know! So funny how a comment from a complete stranger can encourage me just that much more. Winking smile

I set out for a run today, determined. I didn’t have a distance in mind, I just wanted to get out and GO. I drove out to the Army post, tracked down a gym, parked and was outta there. I did an out and back, only to realize on my “out” that I was getting thirsty and should turn it around. After completing my “back”, I was craving more mileage than just my measly four.

This time around, I opted for the treadmill. My legs were dead. Oh, so very dead. But, they kept moving, and kept me happy. I did four more miles, and the split between the first and second sets was just a minute.

Two weeks ago, and I would have been so mad for not working hard enough for a negative. Today, I didn’t care, at ALL. I’m so happy to be over this running slump. I’ve definitely found a place to run. The trick here is to keep motivation to run later in the day, something I haven’t had to do in a LONG time.

Anyway, the Bean is in bed, and I’m eager to read The Lacuna so I will bid you adieu.

Quick question – Have you [or anyone you know] participated in a Project 365? Ya know, where you take a picture for everyday of the year? I’d really like to start this, but I’m hesitant for some odd reason…

Today, I ran eight miles for the following soldiers. I shamefully admit that I do not have biographies written for six individuals. A while back I sat down and did almost a hundred, and it seems I have reached the end of that. Tomorrow is a rest day, and I will be catching up on these for sure. Check back soon for completed bio’s.

Army Pvt. 2 Brandon U. Sloan

Marine Lance Cpl. Donald J. Cline Jr.

Army Sgt. Donald Ralph Walters

Marine Pvt. Jonathan L. Gifford

Army Spc. James M. Kiehl

Army Chief Warrant Officer Johnny Villareal Mata

Marine Cpl. Kemaphoom A. Chanawongse // May 5, 1980 – March 23, 2003
CPL Chanawongse, 22, of Waterford, Connecticut was assigned to 1st Battalion, 2nd Marine Regiment, 2nd Marine Expeditionary Brigade, out of Camp Lejeune. Nicknamed “Chuckles” by members of his unit, he was just nine years old when his family moved from Thailand to the US. An avid soccer player and snowboarder, he enlisted in the Marines following in the military footsteps of his grandfather. He loved the Marine lifestyle, enjoying the camaraderie that his fellow devil dogs gave to him.

Army Pfc. Lori Ann Piestewa // December 14, 1981 – March 23, 2003
PFC Piestewa, 23, of Tuba City, Arizona was assigned to 507th Maintenance Company, out of Fort Bliss. PFC Piestewa made headlines for being the first Native American woman to die in combat while serving with the US military. Following a long standing family tradition, she honored her family by joining the Army. A Hopi Indian, she was taken prisoner with two other soldiers, one of whom was best friend, PFC Jessica Lynch. PFC Piestewa is survived by her parents, and two children

Determination

One thought on “Determination

  1. Ugh…I am so sorry and I completely feel your pain. This place is just NOT a good running town. It simply is not. I have been struggling since moving here in Oct. Staying motivated is SO hard when it is nearly impossible to run and when I do run it is not the relaxing, stress relief that I came to love about running in Tacoma. It is just as you said, stressful. I cant wait to get out of here. I hate this town, this state, and this post. Negative? Yes, I guess so….but reality is that I am not happy here because I physically cannot do what I love to do. =/ There are a couple of places that I can go but it is not convenient. It takes 20-30 minutes to get to where I can have a good run, and that just doesn’t work with my schedule…AH! So sorry to take over your comments. Guess we can commiserate in the morning! =)

Leave a Reply

