Pretty Sure This Isn’t How You Train for a Marathon

This 18 miler was incredibly elusive all weekend and that pisses me off to no end. Friday, I ensured everything was fine – I hydrated all day, fueled properly, and at the end of the day I set all that I needed out. I had plans to sleep all night. My daughter did not.

Small wake up at 11. Quick cuddle and she’s back out. No biggie.

Another small wake up at 1230ish; again with cuddles and back to sleep. Again, not a problem.

130 – another wake up that lasts a little longer, but she’s down by 2.

330 – full on wake up. I’m talking out in the living room, giggling on the couch, speaking in conversations, and wanting to color. Yeah, pretty amazing. She doesn’t fall asleep until about 445ish, which is about 15 minutes after I wanted to wake up for my run. At this point, I was too tired and irate to even want to run [let alone go back to sleep], plus I knew that I wouldn’t make my 15 in time before Run to Remember.

Fast forward to Saturday night, the daughter is yet again fighting sleep, and I’m running on about 4, 4.5 hours of sleep so I pass out on her bedside, I’m guessing around 1030 pm. Somehow, I made it to bed [I’m guessing the husband came and got me…?] and the next thing I know I’m waking up at 830.

From there, I’m going to be honest – I was just totally bummed about this entire weekend and I didn’t even want to run a single mile. My husband was doing everything but changing me into running clothes to try and get me to go out. He basically pushed me out the door, and I ran 7 miles.

But naturally, when it rains it pours. The run went ok, [at a super slow pace] of course I forgot to start my Garmin and my Amphipod was leaking. What really ruined me is the fact that I started chafing. This NEVER happens. I. Have. Never. Chafed. The reason I have Body Glide is because I heard people chafe, I used it as a preventative measure; one day I forgot to put it on and realized I don’t need it. I’ve done half marathons, a 15 miler – zero Body Glide. I’m guessing the spandex on the skirt was bunching up and started chafing.

So I turned it on, and I’m still pissed about how this run went; the more I think about it I just get upset about it. Anyway, I just need to get over myself. I’ve totally let down myself, the soldiers, and my family. Ugh.

I ran 7 miles today for the following fallen soldiers

Air Force Master Sgt. Michael Maltz // September 19, 1960 – March 23, 2003
MSgt Maltz, 42, of St. Petersburg, Florida was assigned to the 38th Rescue Squadron, out of Moody Air Force Base. MSgt Maltz enlisted in the Air Force less a month after high school graduation, and quickly worked his way up in rank. After a few years he became a pararescueman and was even featured on the recruiting pamphlet. He loved to ski, skydive, and climb mountains.

Air Force 1st Lt. Tamara Archuleta // May 12, 1979 – March 23, 2003
1LT Archuleta, 23, of Los Lunas, New Mexicos was assigned to the 41st Rescue Squadron out of Moody Air Force Base. At the age of seven, she announced to her family that she had plans on becoming the first female president. At 20, she become the first female from U of New Mexico’s ROTC program to get her wings. Involved with her community, she volunteered with the Girl Scouts, and was a third degree black belt in karate. She leaves behind a husband and son.

Army Spc. Brandon S. Tobler // May 17, 1983 – March 22, 2003
SPC Tobler, 19, of Portland, Oregon was assigned to the 671st Engineer Brigade. Volunteering for the Reserve as a way to pay for college, he quickly became a motivated soldier. Though he one day dreamed of becoming a police officer, and before deploying he had worked in the inventory department of a local Best Buy. He loved riding his bike, hiking, and drinking Beck’s beer.

Marine Lance Cpl. Eric J. Orlowski // February 12, 1977 – March 22, 2003
26, of Buffalo, New York, was assigned to the 2nd Tank Battalion, 2nd Marine Division, out of Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. A tough guy with an aura of confidence became a strong, well rounded Marine in 2000. He was volunteering for extra duty, but would call to speak with his daughter at any time possible. He left behind his daughter, Cameryn and his longtime girlfriend, Nicole Kross, whom passed of breast cancer 5 years later.

Marine Sgt. Nicolas M. Hodson // October 12, 1980 – March 22, 2003
Sgt Hodson, 22, of Smithville, Missouri was assigned to the 3rd Battalion, 2nd Marine Regiment, 2nd Marine Expeditionary Brigade, out of Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Known for his quick wit and charm, he was ready to make a career out of the Marine Corps. He was incredibly proud of the Marines and serving his country, and left behind a two year old son.

Army Capt. Christopher Scott Seifert // April 24, 1975 – March 22, 2003
Capt. Seifert, 27, of Easton, Pennsylvania was assigned to the 1st Brigade, 101st Airborne Division out of Fort Campbell, Kentucky. An outstanding student, musician, and athlete, he was described as “the soldier you wanted to lead, he was the soldier you wanted to follow”. He was a distinguished officer, hardworking, and respected by all.

Navy Lt. Thomas Mullen Adams // April 16, 1975 – March 22, 2003
Lt. Adams, 27, of La Mesa California was assigned as an exchange officer with the British Royal Navy’s 849 Squadron. From the time he was a small child, Lt. Adams wanted to know anything and everything about planes and ships. He lived life to the fullest, without second thoughts or regrets about anything. As a teen, he joined the Civil Air Patrol, and he even celebrated his 18th birthday by skydiving.

Pretty Sure This Isn’t How You Train for a Marathon

3 thoughts on “Pretty Sure This Isn’t How You Train for a Marathon

  1. Sorry your run was so crappy. We all have days/weekends like that. Believe me, it makes you stronger. It’s going to make that next long run so much sweeter and you will kill it!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Some of what you said echos in my head this morning.. I had no desire to run at all, and didn’t meet my “long run” goal.. ugh. Glad you were able to get out for at least 7.. hope you have a good Monday and can shake off the weekend!

  3. I have soooo been there, girl! My advice…no matter how crappy and negative the night has made you feel try and make it out for the run. Because if you don’t, you’re still tired, and grouchy, and you missed your run on top of it. When you get out there, don’t worry about pace, and think how much deeper you can dig on race day knowing how hard you worked in training. Your 7 miler was great…you still got out there despite a horrible night. I know how hard it is when you get no sleep, espeically when it goes on for multiple nights. Unfortunately I think sometimes there is just nothing we can do about it other than power on. You’ll get your 18 this weekend…hang in there.

Leave a Reply

