My Garmin Must Think I’m an Idiot

So I was invited to a track workout today by a friend of mine, we’ll call her Pearl. Speed work sounded fun yesterday, but most definitely not today. We both agreed that we were sucking supreme wind, and that the run was pretty challenging. We did 6 x 400’s. It felt like 400 x 400’s.

Ridiculous!

Anyway, I’m surprised my Garmin doesn’t up and leave me. {not even kidding}

In between the 400’s, we’d walk to the ‘other corner’, and then start another 400. Does that make sense? No? Doesn’t surprise me, I suck with this kind of thing. So here’s a picture.

lap
running & walking going counterclockwise

So I was doing fine, and hitting ‘lap’ when I need too. Except I forgot to re-start the Garmin. Hold on, it gets better. I then remember to “stop” the Garmin, in turn actually starting it, therefore, for a couple of walks, I recorded my time, instead of recording my 400 time. DUDE.

Cliff Notes for this post :: I’m an idiot that can’t remember to start her Garmin correctly. I ran my 400’s consistently in the 6:47-50s. Total, I “ran” 2.65. I’m rolling my eyes at myself, don’t worry. Plus, I forgot my list of soldiers, so now I feel like a complete jerk.

Today, I ran for the following fallen military members:

Army Sgt. Bradley S. Crose // August 4, 1979 – March 4, 2002
Sgt. Crose, 22, of Orange Park, Florida, was assigned to the 1st Battalion, 75th Ranger Regiment, based out of Fort Stewart, Georgia. Upon graduating high school, Sgt Crose immediately joined the Army. He was an avid Florida Gators fan who loved to read, and at the age of 15 he even competed in the Men’s National Tae Kwan Do Championships. He was killed during a rescue mission during Operation Anaconda.

Air Force Tech. Sgt. John A. Chapman // July 14, 1965 – March 4, 2002
TSgt. Chapman, 36, of Waco Texas was assigned to the 24th Special Tactics Squadron based out of Pope Air Force Base, North Carolina. He joined the Air Force in 1985, proud of his Combat Controller role, and receiving two Air Force Commendation Medals. TSgt Chapman leaves behind his wife, Valerie, and their two daughters. He was killed during a rescue mission during Operation Anaconda.

Air Force Senior Airman Jason D. Cunningham // March 27, 1975 – March 4, 2002
SrA Cunnigham, 26, of Camarillo, California was assigned to the 38th Rescue Squadron, out of Moody Air Force Base, Georgia. An enthusiastic father, devoted husband and fierce leader, his family also described him as a man who never did anything half way. “…He once drove 16 hours to be home for 10,” Says wife, Theresa Cunnigham; whom he left behind, as well as their two daughters, Hannah and Kyla. He was killed during a rescue mission during Operation Anaconda.

My Garmin Must Think I’m an Idiot

2 thoughts on “My Garmin Must Think I’m an Idiot

  1. I have the hardest time remember to hit stop and start on the garmin. I usually set up a ‘workout’ so it does the remembering for me. I set it up so it starts a new lap at .25 miles, then .125 miles all that repeated 6 times. The distances are usually spot on, and if they aren’t then at least the paces come out pretty close.

Leave a Reply

