Speed Work & Staff Duty Ramblings, Vol. 3

My legs are toast. They were actually toast BEFORE I ran today, but the speed work made them even more… toastier (??!) For those wondering if you can do 6 x 400’s with a running stroller, you can. Don’t ask me how I did it, but I did and I even hit negative splits the entire way. Starting at 7:38, I also hit 7:20s, 7:11, 6:38 and 6:33. Of course, I pulled an EMZ and forgot to hit lap [*groan*] a few times in there, so it’s hit or miss. The last couple were tough, but I just thought about my guys and pushed it. Especially SSgt Ridout. Definitely read his story if you have the chance, you can find it after all the ramblings.

Anyway, it’s that time again, and Husband has staff duty. Boo. Luckily he has the weekend to recuperate. 🙂

– I just went to the previous Ramblings [here and here] to make sure I dont repeat myself… instead, I realized “OMGosh, I don’t remember the last spin class I went too. UGH”

– Bought some Airwick plug ins today. Amazing. You can hardly tell there’s 2 dogs, eau de Army, weird runner smells, etc., living in this place! Awesome.

– Is it wrong or clever that I’m letting my kid fall asleep to Finding Nemo? I figure she put up with the 400’s, so she can rule the rest of the night.

– I loathe cyclists that don’t wear helmets. I saw a cyclist on a very busy, and fast, road – riding AGAINST traffic, without a helmet. Ugh.

– Do you have a certain time that you refuse to eat after? My uncle won’t eat after 7 pm. I am absolutely starving and usually don’t eat late but I think I might have to bust out a huge bowl of Chex.

– I was totally motivated to run today by my friends’ husband. I’m pretty sure he had a runner’s high as we  texted, and reading his excitement about his progress totally sparked my fire.

Today, I pounded the track for the following military members:

Air Force Staff Sgt. Juan M. Ridout // June 25, 1972 – February 22, 2002 
SSgt Ridout, 29, of Maple Tree, Washington was assigned to the 320th Special Tactics Squadron, based out of Kadena Air Base, Japan. SSgt Ridout has one heck of a story. He was named Special Forces squadron’s pararescueman of the year in 1999 for his heroism. In May, he had rescued an F-16 pilot who had been shot down by a missile in Serbia. He exchanged gunfire with enemy forces before helping rescue Col. Dave Goldfein. His sister, Jessica, has an open [and tear jerking] message to the public about her brother, found here. He was killed when a MH-47E he Chinook helicopter he was on, crashed at sea in the southern Philippines during a training exercise.

 

Army Staff Sgt. Kerry W. Frith // September 27, 1964 – February 22, 2002 
Ssg Frith, 37, of Jamesville, Nevada was assigned to E Co, 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment, based out of Fort Campbell, Kentucky. The youngest out of seven children, Ssg Frith served in the Navy before he enlisted in the Army in 1987. He left behind a wife, Carol, and two children, Jacob and Ciara. He was killed when a MH-47E Chinook helicopter he was on, crashed at sea in the southern Philippines during a training exercise.

Army Spc. Thomas F. Allison // October 28, 1979 – February 22, 2002 
Spc. Allison, 22, of Tacoma Washington was assigned to E Co, 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment, based out of Fort Campbell, Kentucky. Unfortunately, since Spc. Allison was single, and a part of a group of men that died, I’m finding almost zero information on his personal life. Furthermore, trying to research his name proves quite difficult, as it is pretty common, as well as his young age. Spc Allison was killed when a MH-47E Chinook helicopter crashed at sea in the southern Philippines during a training exercise.

Speed Work & Staff Duty Ramblings, Vol. 3

One thought on “Speed Work & Staff Duty Ramblings, Vol. 3

  1. w00t w00t on that speedwork, heart!

    I’m laughing so hard at your thoughts. Every time I see a cyclist without a helmet on, I want to throw something at them. I’m allowed to, being a safe cyclist myself. :\ It’s even worse when you clearly see that the “cyclist” has not paid enough attention to the fact that there are rules to the road. Goodness gracious.

    I MISS YOU! 😦

Leave a Reply

