Yes, I Still Run

Hello! Hope the weekend treated all the Mommies out there with awesomeness and gifts. I had an amazing weekend, and was reminded exactly how blessed I was for having both The Husband and Silly in my life. It’s crazy how caught up in life you can get; between the frustrations, ups and downs, hectic schedules – you really just need some time to smack you in the face and say, ‘HEY. Count your frickin’ blessings!!’. This past weekend did just that, in various ways.

I felt a cold coming on, Friday morning. I hate being sick, and will usually do anything in my power to avoid taking medicine. But, I don’t want to spread it to family, and my mom is visiting soon – I wanted to make sure I’m back to 100% ASAP. Between the DayQuils, cough drops, and overall gross feeling, I have been totally out of it all weekend. I feel like I’m 10 seconds behind on conversations, and my energy level is zero.

Over the weekend we had my brother in law and his girlfriend come up for a visit, and we were able to go out for a nice little family run. And by ‘nice little family run’ I really mean, “9 miler in rain, wind and cold temperatures while I push the stroller/parachute system that held a napping Silly”. It was a blast though, and to be honest it was one of the easiest long distance runs I’ve ever done.

That night I FINALLY made the pecan pie, and this time it was edible. :)

Mother’s Day was spent being pampered, and my amazing loving husband surprised me by buying my a laptop. He’s crazy like that. I love him to death, and will be forever grateful for him.

And to Silly- thank you for giving me the best job ever. It might be crazy, frustrating, lesson-learning, humorous, and challenging; but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Thank you for allowing me this amazing¬†experience, and I look forward to the journey ahead of us.