And So It Begins

25 JUN 2011

I signed up for the Seattle Rock’n’Roll half marathon on a complete whim last week, and just got around to checking training schedules yesterday. I had no idea how many weeks out the race was – just that I had the rest of April, all of May, and almost 3 weeks of June before the race. Ample time, for sure.

Want to know something about me, and how I handle training schedules? Of course you do, or else you wouldn’t be here! Well, I really suck at it. I always end up making my own ‘hybrid’ schedule. The last two half marathons, I’ve based it off of Hal Higdon, but made changes to how I was feeling, what my plans were like, and what my motivation was like.

So anyway, I did the math, and training starts today with some “Stretch and Strenghten”. So… rest day. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I will do my best to make it to the gym. The house needs cleaning, husband has to go into work, and laundry isn’t going to fold itself.

Have a great Sunday, friends ๐Ÿ™‚

PS – Anybody use WordPress? What does “this post is super awesome” do?!!!

Aren't they all super awesome?!

 

And So It Begins

12 thoughts on “And So It Begins

  1. Good luck!

    And as far as the “super awesome” option goes, checking that box will result in rainbows and unicorns appearing on our screens!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I use Hal Hidgon, too, but I also make a hybrid schedule for the reasons you stated. Works well for me! Good luck beginning your training!

  3. Going to have to look into Hal Hidgon, of course I’m only getting up to 10K! I tried the couch to 5k program and found that I followed it for the first 2 weeks then dropped it for a “run till I can’t run”then walk approach, adding minutes each time, maybe I need something more concrete to get me to double the distance!

    Good luck training for seattle!

    1. Thanks lady!! We all start somewhere ๐Ÿ˜€ Just seeing a plan keeps me motivated if anything, even if I veer totally of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I love a training plan that starts with a rest day ๐Ÿ™‚

    I always have a floating rest day in my training plans for baby teething issues and “I didn’t sleep so I can’t run the full distance today” days.

Leave a Reply

