Really? Really?? [injury related]

Body – I will never hurt you again. Please get better soon. I promise that from now on I will stretch you before and after every run for at least 10 minutes. I will do yoga every other day, as well as strength training. Body, I will give you more rest, listen to you better, and I will even start reaching out of my comfort zone to start cross training. Just please Body, heal my knee and hip so I can run again. Running is all I want to do, and I’m more than willing to take care of you better, if it means doing everything I just mentioned. Thanks.

Ugh! Sometime early Wednesday afternoon my knee [and twinges in my hip] started giving me trouble. I can kind of pinpoint the pain, the type of pain, but I don’t know what it means. I have never been injured. Sure, I’ve had annoyances that gave me a few days rest, but that’s they were – annoyances.

This? This hurts. At first, walking was painful, as is laying my leg completely flat. I’ve been icing, staying off my feet and elevating my leg. Since, the pain has subsided a bit, and I’m hoping it’ll go away completely, soon. My husband can attest to the fact that since then, I’ve been a bratty kid that was sulks around, throwing all kinds of crazy ideas around. I’m convinced I have torn ligaments, snapped tendons, deteriorating kneecaps, which mean my leg needs to be amputated.

Being injured sucks. Honestly, I can’t exactly tell what I have. I have a sneaking suspicion it’s ITBS, but I’m also reading stuff about runner’s knee that fit the mold. Either way, I am unamused, and this needs to fixed ASAP. Remember what I’ve said about not having patience? This is really going to test it. I’ve read healing this could be 6 or 8 weeks, while others run with a lingering pain. I’m not doing that. This issue will be dealt with, and I don’t want to have to keep putting up with it.

*sigh* Until then, I’ll just live vicariously through all of you amazing running bloggers.

Really? Really?? [injury related]

10 thoughts on “Really? Really?? [injury related]

  1. oh I hear ya! still have not run here either. We can do this, just rest a little more, cross train, stretch, and foam roll. Yes? Wish we could train together, Misery loves company. haha!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Oh no!! I will pray for a fast recovery. I’m so paranoid I’m gonna injure myself in the next ten weeks..

  3. I’m going through almost the same thing. The twinges usually hit the day after a run and it’s so achy up and down my hip to knee. I’ve also made the mistake by self diagnosing getting worked up over ITBS. The good news, I’ve managed long runs with no serious issues, I just had to slow down and get new shoes!!

Leave a Reply

