YAAAAAWN…

I suck at sleeping. Honest, I do. I’m ready to fall asleep standing by 7 pm, but always have ‘something’ to do and I catch my second wind. The chain reaction starts out the same way almost everytime – kiddo’s bath time, browsing the net, reading, catching up on DVR’ed shows, playing with the pups, or even the dreaded late night bowl of ice cream. The rest of the house is tucked in and snoring by 9 pm, and I’m left wide awake for whatever.

For example, last night it was “I’m going to stretch, read a bit, and head to bed” … which turned into “Ok I’ll stretch while watching tv, then go to bed” … which turned into “I’m done stretching, oh hey, Spirit of the Marathon is on Netflix…” when THEN turned into “That is always a good movie, OMG King of the Hill is on” – cue me, falling asleep about 1/2 way through King of the Hill. To make matters worse, Silly has been waking up around 2 in the morning, and taking about 30-45 minutes to calm back down and fall asleep. She also will make random sounds throughout the night, and while she’s still asleep, my mom-senses come into play, and I’m staring at her in for 5 minutes making sure she’s still breathing. She wakes up at 0700, and I’m a zombie getting the morning started. I like coffee, but I am literally dependent on it. I am also NOT a morning person, which can sometimes compounds things.

I hate it. Seriously, why I put myself through this, is beyond me. Not only is it dumb, and downright unhealthy, but it’s also incredibly selfish. My daughter depends on me – what kind of Mom am I, if I’m staying up until midnight, only to wake up in a disoriented haze? It’s not fair to her that Mommy needs to chug coffee and fight daytime naps, instead of coloring with her or going to story time. I need to get this straightened out ASAP. No more checking the internet after dinner [I mean seriously, it will still be there in the morning], setting a sleep timer on the TV will become mandatory, and putting the phone on silent – it all starts tonight. Don’t worry Kenny, your ring tone will still come through – phone calls from the Middle East are ALWAYS welcome 😀

I need to start taking sleep seriously. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some coloring to do.

If you find yourself putting bed time off, check out this video that Veria Wellness sent me this morning, via Twitter. While these are all common sense things [so you would think ;)] it never hurts to hear them!

YAAAAAWN…

5 thoughts on “YAAAAAWN…

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I am totally the same way. There have been nights where all of a sudden all I want to do is go running outside at like 10 PM… uhh. Not a good idea ’round these parts. I’m up until 11:30 most nights unintentionally… I just stay up until my eyes won’t open any more.

Leave a Reply

