The Unknown

I did not get up and run this morning, and I am definitely ok with that. Maybe I’ll go on easy 4 or 5 miler either later tonight, or sometime tomorrow. Husband asked me last night how I was feeling about the half on Sunday and I quipped “I think it’ll be ok” before I could really sit and think about it. I later realized I don’t really have the right to even say that. I honestly do not have a clue as to what I’m really getting myself into on Sunday. I can tell you right now that I will be pretty high strung, but other than that, I am venturing into a territory unknown both mentally and physically. Obviously, I want it to go well; but who’s to say? Like many other unknowns in life, you just have to go into it with a clear head and a positive attitude.

Army life – definitely another unknown. All we know is where we’re going to be for the next 6 months, then the rest of the canvas is blank. For all we know we could end up in Korea, or North Carolina [amongst many other places]. While this might send people into a catatonic state of panic and spouting gibberish, I welcome it. Sure, it’s a hassle not knowing where you’re going – but that’s all it is. Our belongings are moved for us, my husband will be doing a job he likes, and I will have the camaraderie and support of many others on post.

Do you embrace the unknown, or shy away from it? Are there some things you are not willing to get into unknowingly? Or do you search down the unknown and fly by the seat of your pants, living for the moment, embracing the good and bad?

The Unknown

2 thoughts on “The Unknown

  1. danelle says:

    read my pre-nyc half marathon post again, it will help you I think. You’ll do wonderful, all those nerves and pressure you put on yourself actually helps…. you’ve hyped it up for so long that when you are finally in it- you will enjoy it.

    As for the army life… I like the unknown. Hell we could end up being sent to NC too in 2 years and I went and opened up a bakery here…LOL! Hopefully the army will pack that up and move it for me too. 😉

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I like Army life so far, though my husband is only at his first duty station. We wanted Korea and got it. I’m looking forward to the excitement of finding out where we go after that, and controlled uncertainty is welcomed. 😉

Leave a Reply

