¡­¡FELIZ 28!! Peruvian Recipes and a Fortnight Follow-Up

Yesterday was Peruvian Independence Day. Since my mom couldn’t be in Peru, I thought I would try my hand at Peruvian cuisine. Needless to say I was nervous as hell, I cannot think of a Peruvian dish I don’t like; so I definitely felt as though I had to prove myself. The first, and main dish, was Aji de Gallina. FYI, Aji Amarillo paste could be hard to find – It’s not at your local grocer, but if you hit up a Mexican grocery store I guarantee you will be able to find it. I served this with rice, halved hard boiled eggs, and Kalamata olives as a garnish. I usually can’t stand anything I cook, as I am my hardest judge and the dish is never up to standards. This was not the case. I loved this stuff; it was creamy, rich and just the right amount of spicy. There was NOTHING left, and I was mentally kicking myself for not doubling up on the recipe.

Aji De Gallina

I also started making Alfajores. Being the “I must make everything from scratch” person that I am, I also wanted to make the Dulce de Leche on my own. Well… needless to say, because of my good intentions, the cookies have been baked, but they have yet to be filled with Dulce de Leche. No big deal though, the cookies themselves are not supposed to be soft. Since they weren’t done, I decided to make chocolate covered raspberries instead…

A few more things… Georgia was AWESOME. We had a blast; the formal and graduation were beautiful and having the Husband’s parents there really sealed the deal. I reviewed Minnie’s Uptown Restaurant for Kevin’s blog. I’ll let you read it yourself, but MAN I am glad I do not have Soul Food at my disposal 24/7…

Running while traveling proved difficult. Just getting up in the morning and leaving the Army Man behind, even for 40 minutes, seemed unfathomable. I just has 12 weeks without him! That is primo snuggling time I was not going to give up. I also really had a hard time adjusting to the weather, and there were times were the kiddo’s lack of sleep got in the way. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to join my friend on her run, and while there was no way I’d be able to keep up with her, I still think it would have been fun.

I finally got back into the groove this morning, with a quick 2 mile run this morning on base. It definitely did not go well, but I anticipated that. Since he’s home, we’re doing all sorts of culinary adventures [homemade pizza, arroz con leche,food to name a few] so I NEED to run – not only o burn off all of this food, but to also keep training on track. Getting out of bed was definitely the hardest part, but I’m confident I can continue this trend. ** picture is not mine – seems as though i can’t upload photos…. !?

¡­¡FELIZ 28!! Peruvian Recipes and a Fortnight Follow-Up

Leave a Reply

