Back in the Saddle

So here lately I’ve crashed into a mental wall when it comes to running. I foolishly began a streak for the month of June. Needless to say, about 6 days in, running felt like a chore and the ‘shininess’ of marathon training quickly turned to rust. I took an entire week off, and didn’t care; not even the yoga mat was rolled out. Until very recently, I had signed off all hope for the marathon and felt beyond guilty about letting the guys at the Wounded Warrior Project down. This sounds cheesy, but I did some soul searching and realized that just because I didn’t feel like doing something, doesn’t mean I shouldn’t. I thought about my brother a lot, and what he’d say, and the pep talk he’d give me. Of course, said pep talk would be riddled with picking on me, and calling me a crazy ass; but it’d be the best pep talk given, as only a former Marine sniper could.

I picked up what was left of my dignity, sucked it up and got back out there. I started back up with an easy 4 miler, followed by a 6 miler. Talking with other people in my running circle made me feel pretty confident. Between the motivation, and words of encouragement in starting my training plan over, I’m confident that I’m back on track.
Lesson learned though, I will no longer let things distract me from the big picture.

Back in the Saddle

Leave a Reply

