weekend round-up

i would give this weekend a thumbs up, for sure. friday was a welcomed off day, and i got to hang out with my family. granted, i still live at home but due to our schedules it’s often hard to get together. i have literally gone days without seeing my brother, which is downright ridiculous since we live under the same roof. anyway, it was fun and i cherish it, knowing that i might not be able to have this again before i leave. saturday was a hard workout followed by a great meal. today was an unforseen off day, but i’ll take it – being mother’s day and all.

tomorrow i’m really looking forward to running. i’m nervous because the last time i ran was thursday and i had to hop off the treadmill since my shins started acting up again. this time i’ll hit the road, rain or shine. more than likely rain… the newscast earlier said to expect rain everyday for the next 6 days or something insane like that. of course it’s also going to be cold. now that i think about it, i might just torture myself on the treadmill, the last thing i want is to get sick… in addition i’ll do core work and the arms/back/shoulders circuit. i’ve just recently started lifting, so it’s been interesting… eitherway, my goal is to shoot for about 3.5-4 miles

i also have a personal goal [thanks to the Monthly Challenge competition thread at RWOL… just can’t seem to get enough of that place, haha…] to run 50 miles this month and cycle 100. so far i’m 9.6 miles into the run and 21 into the cycling. which means that i need to run 2.1 miles a day and bike 4.1 miles daily to meet my goal. needless to say, i need to step it up.

what the rest of the week has planned for me i have yet to figure out. it’s going to be a busy one for sure. school is getting crazy yet again – a whopping total of 3 papers due, 2 tests and a quiz; just this week. sometime in the next few days i also have to make a decision on my move out to San Antonio in regards on how i’m getting all my crap out there. call me crazy but i also have to start packing for my vacation [10 days, 10 hours, 13 minutes and about 55 seconds away. but who’s counting?]… it seems silly to pack so far out, but the last thing i want to do is forget something since i’m hitting the ground running once i get there. i also want to be able to soak in every moment of this vacation because it’s super important to me and i don’t want to have to worry about lugging stuff around or worrying about what i left back home. this trip is life changing in so many ways, i wish i could describe it but i honestly wouldn’t even know where to begin. this weekend i also have to work my Reserve job, and early next week i have to turn in assignments early from the classes i’ll be missing while i’m gone. so yeah, needless to say it’s going to be a busy 10 days.

to quote Bright Eyes, “i go back and forth forever, all my thoughts they come in pairs: i will, i won’t, i doubt, i don’t – I’m not surprised, but i never feel quite prepared”

bring it. 🙂

p.s. in the spirit of Mother’s Day i would like to say hello to mi mami. oye madre!: you have no idea how much you mean to me. you’ve given me life [although at times, have threatened to also take it away…], cared for me, loved me, and have molded me into the person i am today. i know i’m still young, and there are some experiences you cannot prepare me for, but with what you have taught me i know i will get through anything life throws at me. you’ve become my best friend in the past few years and i wouldn’t give that up for the world. you are – hands down – the bestest, coolest, amazing mom ever. you made kenny and i green eggs and ham, let us stay up late to watch the olympics, danced El Show de Juli with me, battled other moms for beanie babies, allowed me to have the most vulgar liscence plate this side of the Mississippi, been there for me when no one else was, picked me up when i was down, supported me in every dumbass decision i’ve ever made [with the ocassional good one], and all the while making an awesome arroz con leche. i love you mami, and i’m going to miss you “10 thousand times” as much when i move to ‘arizona’ 😀 hehe te querio, y gracias por todo. 🙂

weekend round-up

Leave a Reply

