How 5.5 Miles Made Me Cry

I’ve never been the emotional kind. I always considered it a strength, knowing I could face pretty heavy stuff and be able to keep my composure. However, pregnancy = waterworks. It is ridiculous what I cry about. My husband nonchalantly mentioned something about our daughter going to college and I lost my damn mind. I was seriously blubbering for a good 10 minutes and saying irrational things like, “how could you say that, she is ONLY TWO” and “she is NEVER leaving this house!!!!” I must be a peach to live with.

With next Monday marking the start of my EIGHTH month of pregnancy, I set out with a mentality of a run/walk. Whenever I felt like walking, I would; and I would walk for as long as the kiddo would put up with the stroller. For some reason or another, she would throw a FIT when I started running. This has never happened before, in fact, she’s usually asking me to run because “she likes to go fast” – yeah. So anyway, I got lucky and she fell asleep in the stroller, so I was able to get a 3 mile run in in the amazing weather we’re having.

karasleep

My goal for my total running mileage was 3 miles, so once I hit that I just started walking. I honestly felt as though I could have gone farther, but at this point I was still over a mile away from home and I didn’t want to overdo it. Plus, I also wanted to stop and take in the scenery.

rainier

Holy cow, what a disappointing picture, haha! The mountain looks much better in person than on a simple camera phone. Typically, it looks like this…

253877_601224690900_215901066_32978498_2674264_n

Anyway, we came home and I stretched while I heated some leftovers back up – apparently walking will work up an appetite. As I was writing in my running journal [don’t hate] I started tearing up a little. Here I am, in my third trimester, pushing a running stroller, and able to cover mileage at a reasonable pace.

I am so incredibly grateful.

Grateful that my body that allows me to do this. Grateful for the weather we are having, which put the pep in my step to get out there. Grateful that my daughter loves being outside as much as I do. Grateful that I have the ability to have healthy pregnancies. Grateful for the support that everyone has shown me, even when I was too blind to see it.

So why am I writing this all down? Because right now, I’m in a state of bliss, and I really wanted to document it. This will be my bookmark for the times that I’m hard on myself. I get drawn into my own negativity way too often and I need to work on that. This post is to combat the feelings I have on slowing down, the times where I might be struggling mentally, or when I just flat out don’t want to do it.

I want to remember that during my second pregnancy, I was still doing what I loved, and that’s all that matters.

9 thoughts on “How 5.5 Miles Made Me Cry

  1. Awesome! I am so glad you could get a great run in while the weather is so nice! I am so impressed. 8 months pregnant and still going strong!

  2. So glad you had such a good moment! Yes- savor it, and look back on it, and hopefully you’ll have many more before the new one arrives.

  3. That was beautiful and made me smile! You are such an inspiration for getting out there and continuing to do what you love WITH a two year old. I wish you all the best during this last month and may this positive feeling continue to last =)

Leave a Reply

