Love, Love, Love

Love is in the air here at the house.

Today the husband and I celebrate THREE whole years of marriage.

 

We “met” online in early 2008ish, through the Runner’s World forums; while I was working at Wright Patterson Air Force Base in Ohio, and he was writing software in Texas. Honestly, at first I thought he was an arrogant jerk. He seemed to know a lot about everything and I found that highly annoying. To this day, he’ll still have random trivia about the War of 1812, or know the scientific explanation behind baking soda eliminating odors. Now, I just find it cute and charming; like having my own 6 foot 4, walking encyclopedia. For whatever reason, in the forums we started talking about country music. Knowing he was from Texas, I asked if he knew about Pat Green, an Austin musician – whose music I had heard randomly played at frat houses libraries. He replied back with something along the lines of, “Absolutely, I’m his biggest fan, I’ve been to numerous shows, yadda yadda, How the hell do you know about him, yadda”. The conversation naturally shifted to other Texas musicians, some of which I hadn’t heard of at the time. I asked him if he could recommend some songs for me to download, and he then offered to send some to me. Please note the perverted title of the Private Message.

rwol

From there, we went on to have about a million email exchanges, until we finally did the number swap, and spent hours and hours and hours and hours on the phone. Conversations were about everything under the sun; from how our running was going to local weather. I’m not going to lie – I never thought that anything would lead to a relationship. His humor, charm and the fact that he was just so damn genuine totally sucked me in. I found myself falling in love with someone I had never met and while it confused the crap out of me I just let it happen. I was always the one to judge couples that met on the internet. I thought it was unnatural, desperate and weird – yet here I was; 2,000 miles away from a dude who wrote software, melting at his voice, waiting on pins and needles for every phone call/text/email.

We finally met on May 22, 2008. I signed a lease for an apartment, and found an open slot for my Air Force Reserve job within the week, and was moving to San Antonio within a month. When we woke up the morning of March 3, 2009, getting married was the last thing on our minds, but it happened by 5 pm that day, and I have never been happier. that’s a story for another day!!

july4th

I look forward to so many more years with my husband. He makes me strive to be a better person [even when I don’t want to be…], he is my rock, and he knows me better than I even know myself.

Most of all, he is the most loving, ever-adoring, patient father to our daughter, and he beams when he talks about everything he wants to do with our son. I am incredibly blessed to be his wife, and will never take it for granted.

12 thoughts on “Love, Love, Love

  1. What an beautiful love story. I can relate about so many things. I feel the same way about my man. Thank you so much for sharing. I love your posts because they are always real, and intimate.. you are very brave, I really respect how you put yourself out there. Your blog is really special that way.

  2. Mawwrige
    Mawwrige is what bwings wus togewer toway.

    Happy freaking
    Anniversary!!
    Love the photos.
    Love the le crusset [sp] tea kettle.

    Loved this post.

  3. Wow, great story! Now you left us hanging about the wedding day part… can we get a follow up soon?
    Happy anniversary!!

  4. I need to know! How did you get married, total cliff hanger(And what ifyou make us wait a year until next year?). We got married quick ish. It was the giant tsunami on boxing day. It was our first christmas that we sent alone together in our new house(new to us). And i said, “life is short, what are we waiting for, let’s get married in february when we’re on vacation” he said yes. That was 7 years ago.

    Happy anniversary!

  5. I love hearing the story of how you met. There is something to be said for a relationship that stands the test of long distance communication! You guys are adorable. I have a couple of gfs on “match.com” that havn’t had much luck. I should send them to the runners world forum!

Leave a Reply

