I am My Own Worst Enemy

Two words for this song :: 8th grade.

 

Ugh. Just UGH.

The beginning: This morning there was a double rainbow gracing our neighborhood, and it was 55 degrees. However, by lunchtime it was raining sideways [almost tsunami-ing] and the temperature had dropped to 45. Lovely. This kind of weather hung around all day, until of course, later; where we traded rain for the pitch black darkness of the night – yet the temperature climbed. Oddest weather ever.

The solution [or so I thought]: I decided to get in a quick run at the gym. Big, big, big mistake. Everyone and their mother was there; the entire post had just got off work, and Resolutionists were out in full swing. Luckily I snagged a treadmill from a runner I see in there all the time, and we exchanged "this place is crazy" looks.

The soul crushing run: To say it went horrible, would be an understatement. I don’t even want to write it down in my running journal. I know that with pregnancy comes higher weight and slower paces – I just am having a really hard time wrapping my mind around this and I feel like I shouldn’t bother running anymore during the pregnancy.

The random: My legs are doing really weird things, at any given moment.  This started in Ohio and I thought it was cold weather related, but it happened today on the treadmill. About a quarter mile into a run, my quads seize up on me and threaten to cramp. I have to tweak my gait a little, but after awhile I settle back into my normal gait and I am hurting all over again. This doesn’t happen every run, but often enough to where its an alarming nuisance. I’m also noticing that whenever I lay in bed and stretch, I get the feeling of an ‘almost’ charlie horse and I have to stop stretching. This sensation is everywhere from the calves to my quads. I don’t know where this is coming from or what I can do to combat it so if anyone has advice I’m willing to listen!!

Lesson learned: I don’t even know if there is one at this point. I had a crappy run and it put me in a bad mood; and I am questioning a lot right now. Mope with me?? Anyone??

I’ll try a redemption run tomorrow. I guess.

How do you get over a bad run?

Have you ever doubted yourself as a runner??

7 thoughts on “I am My Own Worst Enemy

  1. this is probably a silly question, but are you hydrating enough? I cant help it, hydrating is my hobby :P electrolyte imbalance (drink some pedialyte) and pregnancy can also cause the cramping, as can extreme changes in temperature while exercising as you described. If it were me i’d try a longer warm-up period (hehe prenatal yoga hmm?) or just a brisk walk or a leisurely bike ride, with enough clothing to make you almost sweat before your actual jog. I cant WAIT til the studio and gym are back to their normal clientele numbers….. I love it that people are making better habits but seriously i’m starting to get uber territorial over matspace. Instead of a cork block i’m using a brick *just in case* some yogi dares creepin’ up on me. I also bite.

    Anyways I know those tips all seem like simple solutions, but hope that helps :)

    Wowza i’ve been on an internet binge lately, le sigh.

  2. This is just temporary. You can cry about getting slower when it becomes permanent! I don’t know what to say about the cramping. I know you have a gluten intolerance but are you also a vegetarian? Maybe there is something lacking in your diet. Or maybe you should drink some electrolytes during the day. I was listening to a podcast about pregnancy and nutrition and there was a segment on how important electrolytes were. I started drinking Ultima everyday after that……idk

    I can understand your frustration, but Hang in there. Running slower is not that bad. Certainly not worth giving up on.

  3. Don’t ever question yourself as a runner! You are awesome just being able to run at all while pregnant. I don’t know how you do it. You have to remember your body/joints/etc. are changing so much right now, you are bound to have some weird aches and pains as well as fatigue. Try not to be so hard on yourself:)

  4. I completely and totally bonked the other day. We were supposed to run 11 miles and we stopped at 3. I just felt so awful about myself.. my pace was right under 13:00. What. The. HECK. I got all pissy and mad and we ended up leaving post. I felt so awful… going to try a long run this weekend.

Leave a Reply

