Finally at the Computer

This would be me, except I don't look as graceful. Or manly. But that is up for debate.

So like I said last night, I had a long post written up on my phone about the time we’ve spent here so far in North Carolina. I went to add a picture, the phone froze, and *poof* it was gone. Lesson learned. This post will be all about running. Some stuff about pregnancy. Basically yesterday’s post, but in detail.

It sucks to run here! Very challenging, I definitely take the flat roads around my house for granted. For December, it is crazy humid here; something we’re not used too for sure. No big deal, we leave in tomorrow morning, plus as “awful” as the conditions have been, it has also provided a nice change and most definitely a challenge.

I will say this though, it has been downright amazing running with my husband. Typically, this can go one of two ways 1) We will run side by side, look at houses, talk, and catch up. We actually talk about things we used to talk about. Any parent knows that there comes a point in your relationship where it seems all you talk about is the contents of a dirty diaper, or your child’s vocabulary/attitude/sleep habits. Our conversations while running are different, and I love it. 2) He leaves me in the dust, I get pissed and it turns out to be a terrible run because I feel weak and defeated. Honestly, the latter is my own mental block because I know he has a PT test 4 days after we get back, so he needs to be ready for that [even though he blows this out of the water every time…]. He’s also a big strong Army man who can knock out mileage MUCH faster than a heavy, barely-breathing, 5 months pregnant wife struggling up a hill. Again, its all in my head and I am WAY too competitive.

Right now I’m 20 weeks and 3 days pregnant. I think it would be safe to attribute the difficulty I am having on the runs here to the hills and humidity, because back home runs are still held at a fairly decent pace. I do, however, get some round ligament pain but it is by no means unbearable. Waylynn is also sitting super low. I don’t exactly remember Kara sitting so far down, but I’ll have to check her pregnancy journal. I know that him sitting super low just means … well, that he’s sitting super low… that’s all. I know he’s not going to “fall out”, and nothing dire is going to happen. However, it does make it a bit difficult to run. At this stage, I would compare it too a melon being inserted into your looooower abs, pinning your bladder and other whatnots down there. Its a different sensation, that’s for sure, but again – it might have been more evident because of the general difficulty of the run.

Hilarious side note though; while running I mentioned the oddness of pregnancy quirks, to which my husband replied, “Well, you’re not in LABOR are you???”. I think it was the first time I rolled my eyes during a run. He clearly doesn’t remember how labor went the first time around… too cute. I’ll remind him here in a few months and ask him if he’d like to go for a run.

All righty well I have a ton of work to do today, so I better get at it. We head back to Ohio in the morning, but we’re going to try and squeeze one more run in before we go. I promise not to ramble so much in my next posts…