Nerd Alert

Well, the Summer Fun Photo Challenge is over, so worry you not, you won’t be forced to look at crappy pictures nearly as often! Honestly, I loved every day of it, and felt zero pressure. I learned a lot; not only about the camera itself, but different aspects of photography, as well as photo editing software. Smile Nerdy, I know.

I want to start another challenge for myself, but it is kind of open ended – I want to do yoga daily, for the month of August. Naturally, I’ll have days where I can’t squeeze in an hour or so of class, and on those crazy days I’ll implement yogic breathing techniques, or maybe even read up on some yoga history. Nerdy, I know.

The run this morning went well. I didn’t hydrate very well, but it was only four miles so I was able to put my nose to the grindstone and knock it out. It was also the first time in a while I ran with the stroller, for longer than 400’s at a time. Definitely felt that in my arms. Fine by me though, I need all the help I can get! Kara slept the whole time, so I was able to rock out to some old No Doubt. Tragic Kingdom old, none of that Return to Saturn nonsense Winking smile Nerdy, I know.

Today, I ran for the following military members –

Army Staff Sgt. Justin J. Galewski // April 12, 1974 – April 15, 2002
Ssgt Galewski, 28, of Olathe, Kansas was assigned to the 710th Explosive Ordnance Detachment in San Diego, California. This devoted husband and father of two hoped to teach ordnance disposal so he would no longer have to be away from home. He was killed while disposing of explosives near Kandahar.

Army Sgt. Jamie O. Maugans // February 2, 1975 – April 15, 2002
Sgt. Maugans, 27, of Derby, Kansas was assigned to the 710th Explosive Ordnance Detachment in San Diego, California. The son and brother was described as ‘gentle’ and kind’, He graduated from the University of Kansas, before joining the Army. His webpage can be found
here. Sgt. Maugans was killed while disposing of explosives near Kandahar.

Navy Chief Hospital Corpsman (SEAL) Matthew J. Bourgeois // January 18, 1967 – March 27, 2002
HMC Bourgeois, 35, of Tallahassee, Florida was assigned to Little Creek Naval Amphibious Base, Virginia. He served in the Florida National Guard from 1984 to 1987, where he then enlisted in the Navy, deploying to the Persian Gulf. Leaving behind a wife and son, he was killed by a land mine during small-unit training mission on an abandoned al Qaeda base.

Army Sgt. Bradley S. Crose // August 4, 1979 – March 4, 2002
Sgt. Crose, 22, of Orange Park, Florida, was assigned to the 1st Battalion, 75th Ranger Regiment, based out of Fort Stewart, Georgia. Upon graduating high school, Sgt Crose immediately joined the Army. He was an avid Florida Gators fan who loved to read, and at the age of 15 he even competed in the Men’s National Tae Kwan Do Championships. He was killed during a rescue mission during Operation Anaconda.

2 thoughts on “Nerd Alert

  1. The yoga challenge is not that hard if you just try and do some yoga everyday. I never get an hour in except when I go to my class. I did a 40 day challenge once and realized I pretty much do some yoga everyday anyways, when I stretch after a run. You might try working on a pose that has always scared you, or you thought you could never do. Getting into a hard pose is like running a really long distance for me. It feels like I am breaking my personal barriers!

Leave a Reply

