A Monumental Task

This is going to sound crazy. This is going to take years. I’m ok with that. My gratitude for those who serve in the military is no secret. Having first hand experience at losing a loved one, I know how hard it can be. I’ve decided to dedicate, from here on out, a mile to each military member killed in action during wartime. This will include casualties from Operations Iraqi Freedom, New Dawn and Enduring Freedom. This timeline spans over 10 years. I know I’m going to have a lot of work to do. I have yet to figure out exactly how I’m going to do this. Ideally, I’ll be running; but cycling/walking/swimming are not out of the question. I will try my best to research the individual, their families, their situations and their deaths.

Throughout this unnamed  project, I’m going to run across names I know – friends of friends, friends of the family, hometown individuals, and those that have served right here at Fort Lewis and McChord Air Force Base. I’m hoping to blog as much about this process as I can. Like I said, this is going to take years. Just in the month of July, there have already been 5 deaths. At this very moment, there have been 6,098 confirmed casualties. Just running that will take 6 years, at least.

My quest will start on the date of October 7, 2001 – the date we first launched missles into Afghanistan, signaling the start of Operation Enduring Freedom.

4 thoughts on “A Monumental Task

Leave a Reply

