10 miles later………….

I set out a few hours ago to do a long run. My A Goal was 10 miles, B was 8, C was 7. Before I even stepped out the door I knew that I was going to hit 10.

Yes, I am alive, and all is well!!!

How do you know when you’re going on a long run? You pack a snack for the kiddo and lather her up in sunscreen before you head out. You pack the post map, and remember to throw your nuun in the fridge so you have your recovery drink nice and cold by the time you get back. During the run your husband sees you 3 times while running work related errands and pulls over to talk to you twice. Your toddler gets her entire afternoon nap in and upon waking up shouts out “run? more? run???”. I think at that point, we were both ready to go home.

With that said, it was an amazing run. I mentally bonked from about mile 7.5 to 8.5ish, and looking back on fluid/calorie intake the past 48 hours, I was NOT prepared to run 10. Buuuuuuuuut I did it anyway, and I promised my legs that if they got me through it, that I would reward them with an ice bath and foam rolling. 10 miles, 1:33, 9:21 pace. I will take it. Thank you legs, you deserve way more credit than the brain does.

By the way, theĀ gu roctane island nectar flavor is DEEEEEEEELICIOUS. Good luck trying to get me to use anything else.

Ok friends. I am off to meet a friend for coffee, then hang out with my husband after his very demanding work week. Have an amazing weekend, I know I will!!! My little brother is coming to visit – GAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!

PS – I am composing an open letter to the soldiers of Fort Lewis. Tune in on Monday for that…

7 thoughts on “10 miles later………….

  1. Glad you had a good run! I think 10 miles is my favorite distance to run. Have a great weekend, friend!

  2. Awww, Kara will get to hug her Uncle Kenny (?) instead of calling or emailing – love those old pics :) <3

Leave a Reply

