10 miles later………….

I set out a few hours ago to do a long run. My A Goal was 10 miles, B was 8, C was 7. Before I even stepped out the door I knew that I was going to hit 10.

Yes, I am alive, and all is well!!!

How do you know when you’re going on a long run? You pack a snack for the kiddo and lather her up in sunscreen before you head out. You pack the post map, and remember to throw your nuun in the fridge so you have your recovery drink nice and cold by the time you get back. During the run your husband sees you 3 times while running work related errands and pulls over to talk to you twice. Your toddler gets her entire afternoon nap in and upon waking up shouts out “run? more? run???”. I think at that point, we were both ready to go home.

With that said, it was an amazing run. I mentally bonked from about mile 7.5 to 8.5ish, and looking back on fluid/calorie intake the past 48 hours, I was NOT prepared to run 10. Buuuuuuuuut I did it anyway, and I promised my legs that if they got me through it, that I would reward them with an ice bath and foam rolling. 10 miles, 1:33, 9:21 pace. I will take it. Thank you legs, you deserve way more credit than the brain does.

By the way, the gu roctane island nectar flavor is DEEEEEEEELICIOUS. Good luck trying to get me to use anything else.

Ok friends. I am off to meet a friend for coffee, then hang out with my husband after his very demanding work week. Have an amazing weekend, I know I will!!! My little brother is coming to visit – GAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!

PS – I am composing an open letter to the soldiers of Fort Lewis. Tune in on Monday for that…

Passion, Drive, the “want to” for…….

For awhile now I’ve been trying to think of something to do. Not just “hmm, I should switch up my spin and run day” or “maybe I’ll go wild and have CREAM in my coffee instead of milk”. I have always had the pull to do something bigger than myself. Sometimes I feel as though I’m stuck in a prepetual Groundhog Day; the same routine at home, the same boring routes, the never ending laundry baskets… Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love my life, and wouldn’t trade it for the world – I want to be a part of something.

I have been stalking reading EMZ’s blog for awhile now, and was touched by her 24 hour, 100 treadmill, charity run. My awesome neighbor is passionate in teaching for her church, and juggles this with being a fellow Army wife and stay at home mom. My amazing mother is a member of the Blue Star Mothers in her Ohio chapter devoting a lot of time to this, and my dad has started going with her as well. My brothers have spent countless hours; both by the soccer sidelines and the pool, coaching kids to their full potential. Jon, of course, was devoted to shooting the crap out of silhouettes ;) There’s a healthy amount of bloggers out there, fundraising, spreading awareness about what they hold dear to their heart.

In all honesty, I would be thrilled/excited/moved to tears about going back to my comfy/amazing/life changing status with the Air Force. I struggle with this daily but things have changed since I joined in December of 2006. I have done my time; and I am a mom and wife first. I would be absolutely heartbroken if the slightest chance of both parents deploying would ever come up – that’s my personal opinion. There are parents out there that have, and I look up to them and applaud them for their service.

I have done the Wounded Warrior Project fundraising. It went amazingly well, and I crossed the finish line with pride that day, holding back tears as to what the half marathon meant to me. As I have said before, soldiers will always, always, always, always, always, always, hold a VERY special place in my heart.

So, next best thing to not being in uniform? I’ve decided to stick with what I already know – I want to do something for those injured in combat.

The Wounded Warrior Project has a ton of opportunities for volunteering – unfortunately there isn’t really much in my area, except for a Soldier Ride taking place in September. So far, that is in the back of my mind, heck I don’t even own a bike. I want to meet with soldiers, even if it is just once a week. I’m kind of flying blind here, in San Antonio there was a Wounded Warrior Project office, as well as an entire part of Medical Center there devoted to injured soldiers.

Anyway, thanks for putting up with my ramblings. I’m going to go comment on blogs so people don’t think I hate them. I promise, it’s just me being lazy. I’m reading them, I SWEAR!!!!