Say Whaaaaaaa???

So a friend of mine and I were talking about running strollers lately, and she put the bug in my ear about ‘calories burned during running’ vs. ‘calories burned during running while pushing a kiddo in a running stroller’. Honestly, up until then, I just looked at those runs to have an added resistance, and never really gave it another thought.

Enter Google.

There are a handful of sites that give you basically zero info, but the best one I could find was here. You enter your weight, then scroll down to “push stroller with child” and put in however much time you did that for. THEN comes the best part – they have “running” as an activity, naturally, but they have different speeds as well. Soooo, put in the info there, and scroll all the way down to the bottom and hit “calculate”.

130 lb woman running for 60 minutes at 7 mph, while pushing a running stroller for 60 minutes.

YEAH. Makes pushing that little stroller worth it huh? If you’re pushing a double or God forbid a triple running stroller, just resign yourself to the fact that every other mom out there worships you, and give yourself an extra thousand calories burned.

6 thoughts on “Say Whaaaaaaa???

  1. Wow! Can’t wait to get back out there and push the double stroller plus 50 pounds of babies! Bonus is that when you run races without the stroller you feel light as air….

  2. I competed in a race once and as I approched the finish line I saw a woman in front of me who was pushing a stroller (the field was HUGE and I never saw her before I can only figure she lined up in front of me) and I was like, “Oh no she’s not!” and I really had to work to beat her to the finish line. I gotta tell ya, I tip my hat to all y’all who run while pushing strollers!

    • Haha! I have yet to race with the stroller, and I am not too keen on the idea! I’m afraid I’d be running people over left and right…

  3. I never want to push a double stroller. Yikes. I am soooo much slower with the stroller, but just happy it is even an option. Sometimes that is the only way to get a run in.

Leave a Reply

