Some Quotes

“The greatest barrier to success is the fear of failure.” – Sven Goran Eriksson

So, so true. You will never know if you can succeed at something, until you try. Afraid you’ll fall on your face? You might. But , you might kick supreme butt and come out on top, realizing you have a knack for something. But you won’t know until you try. GO for it.

“If we’re growing, we’re always going to be out of our comfort zone.” – John Maxwell

Literally. Especially true for a pregnant woman in her 8th month.

“Be miserable. Or motivate yourself. Whatever has to be done, it’s always your choice.” – Wayne Dyer

I absolutely love this quote. Why? Because I am horrible at it. WHY put myself through the torture of being miserable? I have the ability to change SO much around me, my outlook on it, and therefore, the outcome of some situations. I am #1 to complain about the rain, but will bitch about the sun being SO bright. Give it a rest sister, good grief.

“What is defeat? Nothing but education; nothing but the first steps to something better.”  - Proverb

This is awesome. All too often we think that the end of the rope is just that – the end. We kick rocks, pound sand and think ‘why me’. Once the fuzziness of frustration has subsided, lick your wounds and think of it as a learning experience. You’re one foot up on it already – thinking ahead, and realizing what you should/should not do in the future.

“Life is change. Growth is optional. Choose wisely.” – Unknown

Remember that quote about stepping outside of your comfort zone to grow? No one is saying you absolutely have too. Just plan on having your own personal Groundhog Day, for about, ever. Life is going to throw curve balls at you, and unless you’re not willing to make the wild swing, you might just strike out.

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” – Plato

Bottom line – don’t be a jerk. Seriously. That poor barista you are berating because ‘how dare he put TWO pumps of sugar free vanilla syrup instead of the ONE’ you asked for has bigger fish to fry than the extra 17 calories you are about to consume. Plus, it just makes you look like an idiot, it’ll raise your blood pressure, and someone may or may not have already uploaded your rant onto YouTube.

“Time you enjoyed wasting is not wasted time.” – T.S. Elliot

I have had numerous people look at me funny when I tell them I am a runner. “WHY on Earth would you do that on purpose??!!” I don’t know, the same reason you sit and watch 7 hours of tv a day. Or the same reason someone will spend 4 hours in the kitchen to make a fantastic meal. Um, because I like it, sheesh.

While I don’t tend to get all religious on the blog, I really want to share this link with you. Yesterday I was having a crap day. That little rain cloud was over my head, and I couldn’t figure out why. It has been forever since I have had a downer kind of day, which made me even more upset. I don’t like feeling that way, and what is worse, is not being able to ‘talk’ myself out of that funk. It wasn’t until The Optimist came home, and we got out of the house, until I was feeling so much better. I wish I would have found this link earlier in the day, but I want to share it anyway.

Ok friends. I hope you are all having an amazing start to your weekend. For those racing, good luck! For those struggling, keep your chin up and breathe easy. For those meandering around, embrace it. For those lucky enough to be doing what you love – live in the moment, soak it in and take a mental snapshot.


4 thoughts on “Some Quotes

  1. this made my day. I needed it yesterday too! it was a rough one. I think there is a difference in sharing your faith and being religious. Today its about faith! :)

  2. Hi, new reader here. Thanks for posting those motivating quotes. I had a cloud hanging over my head yesterday too, and I’m hoping to shake it and make today a better day. Reading those quotes was a great way to start out with a positive attitude :)

    • Oh yay! Glad I could help. Often times I have to keep telling myself to get my butt out of the door! Glad I could help, I hope you’re having an amazing weekend!

Leave a Reply

