Really? Really?? [injury related]

Body –¬†I will never hurt you again. Please get better soon. I promise that from now on I will stretch you before and after every run for at least 10 minutes. I will do yoga every other day, as well as strength training. Body, I will give you more rest, listen to you better, and I will even start reaching out of my comfort zone to start cross training. Just please Body, heal my knee and hip so I can run again. Running is all I want to do, and I’m more than willing to take care of you better, if it means doing everything I just mentioned. Thanks.

Ugh! Sometime early Wednesday afternoon my knee [and twinges in my hip] started giving me trouble. I can kind of pinpoint the pain, the type of pain, but I don’t know what it means. I have never been injured. Sure, I’ve had annoyances that gave me a few days rest, but that’s they were – annoyances.

This? This hurts. At first, walking was painful, as is laying my leg completely flat. I’ve been icing, staying off my feet and elevating my leg. Since, the pain has subsided a bit, and I’m hoping it’ll go away¬†completely, soon. My husband can attest to the fact that since then, I’ve been a bratty kid that was sulks around, throwing all kinds of crazy ideas around. I’m convinced I have torn ligaments, snapped tendons, deteriorating kneecaps, which mean my leg needs to be amputated.

Being injured sucks. Honestly, I can’t exactly tell what I have. I have a sneaking suspicion it’s ITBS, but I’m also reading stuff about runner’s knee that fit the mold. Either way, I am unamused, and this needs to fixed ASAP. Remember what I’ve said about not having patience? This is really going to test it. I’ve read healing this could be 6 or 8 weeks, while others run with a lingering pain. I’m not doing that. This issue will be dealt with, and I don’t want to have to keep putting up with it.

*sigh* Until then, I’ll just live vicariously through all of you amazing running bloggers.