The Cecil Sammich

I think this is the first recipe I’m posting, that I am personally providing you. Whenever I make food, I either wing it, or follow a recipe. Ok, I use ‘follow a recipe’ loosely, because much to my husband’s dismay, I usually end up winging some of that too. SO, with that said, I give you The CECIL. Long story short, I named this after my awesome mom, and you should try it because it’s delicious, I’ve probably had it about ten thousand times during my life. I say ‘long story short’ because there really is a story behind it, but whatever, let’s get on to making this thing!

You’ll need:

A can of tuna. I personally use the stuff in water, as I find the oily stuff … well, too oily, no matter how much I drain it.

A tomato. I KNOW, RIGHT??? I loathe tomatoes. For this, I only use the outer… rind (?) but my mom insists on using the ‘guts’. I can’t do it, the texture is weird to me, and I like the crunch the rind gives.

However much white onion you can handle. I didn’t say this was going to be a precise recipe.

Lime. Just one.

The following will probably make my mom’s heart stop, because she is an absolute purist, but I had to have it. My dad will probably call me some hippie foodie but I will name a Chili after him, so he can just relax. I made an avocado-mayo spread for this, and you can take it or leave it. Whenever I make this sandwich, I try to have this spread, but it depends on if I actually have the avocados or not. They don’t last long around here.

So, for that, you need … an avocado. And a dollop of mayo. *snicker* So clever.

Directions you can follow if your little heart and stomach desire.

Chop however much onion you need into a bowl. Pour salt over the onion [dammit, just eyeball it, because here in a second this won't matter], and rinse. This tends to cut the ‘bite’ and intensity of the onion way down, which is a plus if you’re going to be on the treadmill later – you don’t need to be infesting the gym with your oniony burps. I like onion, but I’ll admit I’m a pansy when it comes to eating them.  I also find that they make my mouth super dry. I have no idea what that means, but I live with it because I like onions.

Pat onion bits dry.

Cut the lime in half, and squeeze the juice from one half into the bowl that your onions are in.

Chop up tomato [sans guts if you like] and throw that in the same bowl.

* I usually don’t add a chopped up jalapeño, but I couldn’t stand to see it go bad in the fridge, and figured this was my only opportunity to use it. It was a nice addition, but I also don’t think I would miss it.*

Drain the tuna, and mix with all the other ingredients.

so pretty.

Throw the bowl in the fridge to let it chill, for however long you want. I personally am way too impatient, and it can just sit there in the time it takes me to make to avo-mayo spread.

The avocado mayo spread is ridiculously easy. I’m also writing these directions with the assumption that you already know how to cut up an avocado properly, but in case you live under a rock, here is some linkage love.

Mix a spoonful of lime juice [to keep the avocado from browning] with the avocado, throw in your mayo; mash. So easy.

To assemble The CECIL :: Toast bread. Slather avocado-mayo on bread [I just did one side]. Scoop tuna mix onto spread.    DEVOUR.


Good stuff. I had this sandwich with a side of bagel chips and hummus, which is something you should do also because it rocks.

I hope you enjoy The CECIL as much as my family does, and if you don’t, well you can ignore this post and wait until the next one rolls around. I’ll still be your friend though, promise.

4 thoughts on “The Cecil Sammich

    • it’s delicious! sometimes i’ll make double the batch, and just eat it as a tuna salad, sans bread/avocado/mayo spread. or spread it onto a spinach salad. good stuff!!

  1. OMG!!!!! I’m trying to find my can opener!!!! Where did it go!!!!! I want to fix this now!!!! Love the story & the pictures! Oh… and this is very nutritious & quick to fix. I do like the avocado spread. Ten thousand times to the infinite power I’m proud of you!

Leave a Reply

